Skip to content
November 18, 2013 / dcwisdom

Redheads

22-DSC_0035

One of life’s greatest joys is having redheaded children!   I love this kid.  Man.  From this picture, can you imagine why?

Around the time I became pregnant with this jewel,  I sang duets and sang in ensembles with a lovely redheaded man, and when this redheaded kid popped out, I know it raised some eyebrows.  No worries.  He’s ours.

At that time, I worked with a woman who was also pregnant, and one day she said, “I hate redheaded babies!  If I have a redheaded baby, I’ll give him back!  I will never love a redheaded baby!” – some rather harsh statements, I thought.   Soon after our babies were born, I bumped into her at a gas station and oogled over her newborn, blonde son.  Upon seeing my son, she jerked back quickly (like he had the plague or something) and exclaimed, “Oh my god, you have a redheaded baby!”

*gasp*  Really??

Four years later, I birthed another redheaded son – another blessing.

Over the last 20+ years, I’ve heard it all.  Carrot-top, Red, Fireball, Woodpecker…Having redheads was like having twins or better.   Lots of old men – I don’t know why it was just old men – would ask, “Boy, where’d you get that red hair?”  Sometimes, I’d reply, “From the mailman!”  That always made ’em wonder.  Or “Sears and Roebuck!”   One time, Sam said, “I think Mom got it at Wal-mart,” the only place the little boy thought I shopped.  People stopped me in the mall (or the grocery store or church) and commented about the boys’ hair, and I did (and still do) the same to other moms and to other redheads.  I have yet to meet a redhead that says he/she never gets attention for his/her hair.  People gravitate to them; they’re like magnets.

So, this year at Thanksgiving, I am giving thanks for my redheaded boys and the blessings they’ve been in my life.  I love you guys!  I can’t imagine my life without you beautiful redheads.

Peace and love.  Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.  God bless Israel.  God help America and have mercy on her.

4 Comments

  1. Penny / Nov 19 2013 12:36 PM

    I love your red-headed guys too. Strangely they were easier to get to know than your brunette.:-/ Curious! I love your kids that I know. Sorry I don’t know your oldest. I’m sure I am missing a blessing by not knowing her.
    Have a blessed day. Love you and hubby too. Miss y’all.

  2. Debbie / Nov 19 2013 7:59 AM

    Our little Ivy is a strawberry blonde. I wish I’d gotten to meet you kids. This one must have inherited his mom’s zany sense of humor! You’re so funny I just love ya!

  3. Layne / Nov 19 2013 6:05 AM

    My very first “real” boyfriend when I was 15 was a red-haired cutie!

  4. jmgoyder / Nov 18 2013 10:55 PM

    This is gorgeous!

Comments are closed.