Skip to content
October 4, 2013 / dcwisdom

The Hello of Fall

I never consider the fall season here until I see spider lilies.

DSC_0222These lovelies are everywhere, and they pop up overnight underneath my gum trees and out in the open field.  So when these girls suddenly show and flaunt their colors, I know that fall has arrived.

This is my season.  The colors, smells, sounds…My longtime girlfriend posted to her Facebook page the same sentiments I have about fall:  warm sweaters and snuggy boots, a bright fire in the fireplace, drippy days and foggy mornings, red and golden falling leaves, a stack of unread books on the end table, hot chocolate in my favorite mug…and what’s fall without Monday Night Football?  One of my favorite things to do is drive at dusk just to see the cozy lights in windows just before the shades are drawn.  (I’m a cheap date!)  Thomas Kinkade paintings remind me of all the light and shadow scenes I love and that familiar, soft feeling of dusk and window lights.

Thank you for reading here and for those who took time to respond on email to the unemployment story quest.  I continue to receive emails from friends of friends and read their stories of job market experiences.  One nice lady told me to join the club.  Unfortunately, the unemployment club isn’t one I really want to join, and I certainly did not know the club is so widespread.  Age is a huge factor, but the growing concern is the new health care laws.  So, if you’re reading here and have an unemployment story where you think age played the biggest factor, please email your story to dcwisdom at yahoo dot com.

In the meantime – before I find that awesome job – I am having the best time playing with paint.  Have a look-see here:

DSC_0210

We bought this bench for a song and dance and gave her a new life; isn’t she pretty?!

DSC_0214

This piece was u-g-l-y but heavy and sturdy.  At the moment, she’s minus her glass, but isn’t she a pretty side table?  Can’t you see a great stack of books on her?

DSC_0216

Such a great, heavy picture for a rooster lover!

DSC_0217

Love this vase with the crackle finish in grass green.

DSC_0215

For the fashion diva – my fave funky piece!  A shot of decoupage fun!

Waahoo!  TWC shows 72* tomorrow!  Come on, fall!

Y’all be blessed.  Send me more stories!

Peace and love.  Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.  God bless Israel.  God help America and have mercy on her.

5 Comments

  1. illnative / Oct 6 2013 11:15 AM

    Ok, this comment should have come first….I love those flowers. Such beautiful color and texture. All my lilies are already shot since they all bloom in July. I won’t even try to repeat what I said about a job. 😀

  2. illnative / Oct 6 2013 11:14 AM

    Hey, by the way. I love your art!

    • dcwisdom / Oct 7 2013 12:05 AM

      Why, thank ya! It’s fun. I can’t paint like Chickie, though. I guess a little talent is better than none.

  3. Anonymous / Oct 6 2013 11:13 AM

    I don’t have any of those flowers, and all our lilies are already shot this season. Love the colors and textures of those. You know how I feel about ‘RED’. Job? I try not to think about it. We can squeeze by without a second income, and I hate to think of giving the government any more of my money to mismanage. At my age, it’s all I can do to keep this house clean. I guess if I went to work, I could get maid service….hummmmm! 😀

    • dcwisdom / Oct 7 2013 12:07 AM

      You can paint, though! 🙂

Comments are closed.