Skip to content
September 11, 2013 / dcwisdom

Chalk Paint Projects

Oh, how I’ve enjoyed my “new-found” freedom from homework!   When I didn’t register for classes this semester, I realized how much I missed my artistic, creative right brain.  I jumped head first into some new projects after I spent a few days sleeping in and staying in my gown til noon, and no kids in the house made it even more delicious.  I didn’t realize what a treat an empty nest is!  Can you tell I’m lovin’ it?  I know I’ll probably have comments like Enjoy it for now.  They come back with more people than they left with!  For now, I savor every moment.

One Saturday, I spent a few hours at the local hardware store learning a new way to paint – with chalk paint!  FUN!

Here’s my first project – before and after.  As you can see, only the support frame is finished with chalk paint, and you can see the condition of the mirror frame.  One of my children, who shall remain nameless for now, left this old beauty under a tree “to weather” and, by George, almost ruined it, but Mom to the rescue!

First Chalk Paint Project

First Chalk Paint Project

The awesome thing about chalk painting is that the condition of the object doesn’t have to be perfect to paint, just clean.  The paint is Country Living, similar to Annie Sloan’s chalk paints.  I looked up Annie Sloan paints online, and the company has strict requirements about who can sell her paints; therefore, most small hardware stores will sell another brand.  The closest Annie Sloan Chalk Paint dealer is 120 miles from here, so I do what I have to do.  If only Annie weren’t so picky…

But, beware!  The paint is pricey.  Twelve ounces of color is $9.99!  So you know me.  Wherever I can save a buck, I will.  Reviewing online recipes for chalk paint via YouTube, I found that folks use either plaster of paris or baking soda to thicken their choices of latex paints.  I figure working with a pint – or a quart if you have larger pieces to paint – is more economical than buying gallons of paint, especially if you are mixing custom colors.  The three Country Living colors I used were chocolate as the base, bayberry, and wisteria.  (The picture doesn’t show the colors very well.)  The paint consistency – no kidding – is like pudding.  Spreads and covers like a dream!  And it goes on any paintable surface – metal, wood, plastic, glass, fabric, etc.

Also, I like to mix my own colors, so I bought primary colors (red, blue, yellow), black, and white.  I can make any color with those five cans of paint.

Lookey-lookey at how much fun I’ll be having!  And I bought more junk today.

Chalk Paint Projects

Chalk Paint Projects

More chalk paint projects

More chalk paint projects

I’ll keep you posted on these pieces of fun!

I jumped into Christmas music, a labor of love.  A young friend and I are writing and directing our church’s Christmas production, and rehearsals have begun.  The vision for the project is something I’ve never seen written or performed, and I’ve labored in prayer over it.   I listened to hours upon hours of music, trying to find the right music for the scenes in my visions.  This week, I finish selecting music and get it assigned to groups and soloists. I am so excited and anticipate so much fun putting it all together.

In all my running around lately, a couple of times I misplaced my keys.  I usually make a conscious effort to keep my keys with my purse; I have one of those telephone cord thingys with the clasp to attach my keys to my purse hardware.  (Yes, I know…it’s very old lady-ish.)  It helps me not to have to dig through my purse to find my keys, and I don’t have to hunt for misplaced keys.  But twice in the last two days, I detached my keys from my purse and laid them elsewhere.  Thank the Lord, I didn’t have to look far to find them, and I didn’t have any trouble like locking myself out of the car or the house.  Thank the Lord again!  In relating my story to Rick, he quipped this joke:  Do you know one good thing about growing old?  You can hide your own Easter eggs!

I hope you enjoyed that!  The sad part about the joke is that I can sorta relate.  When the kids were little, I hid my candy – the kind I buy just for myself – under my mattress and forgot about it.  Months later, I found the bag and the wrappers but no candy.  I still hide candy, and now I have no reason to do so.  If only I can find it.

Peace and love.  Pray for the peace of Jerusalem. God bless Israel.  God help America and have mercy on her.

4 Comments

  1. Vickie / Sep 13 2013 10:00 AM

    Hey girl – don’t feel bad, I have one of those spring clips to attach my keys inside my purse! LOL! I’m loving your painting projects. I didn’t know you could make your own chalk paint. That dresser mirror looks great so I”m anxious to see what else you do. I’m enjoying my days off, too!!! Love ya!

  2. Debbie / Sep 11 2013 7:05 AM

    Girl, when you decide to do something you go whole hog. I’ll be looking forward to seeing more painted projects. I use plaster of paris to make my chalk paint. I like the look too, but use poly to finish instead of wax.
    I misplace lots of things along with my keys. Have a special compartment for them, but they keep hiding!
    Good luck on your musical. I’ve got a feeling it will be spectacular.
    Deb

  3. Penny Nolte / Sep 11 2013 4:25 AM

    Hey Deb, we are considered old ladies by some. And yeah we might act that way – sometimes – but who cares. We’ve earned that previlege. Lol

  4. jmgoyder / Sep 11 2013 4:00 AM

    What a fun and inspirational post! BTW I trashed my last couple of miserable posts but you said you had something to share – my email is juligoyder@gmail.com. Loveya!

Comments are closed.