Skip to content
August 29, 2013 / dcwisdom

Birthday Season

Around my house, we have “birthday seasons.”   In August alone and up to September 3, we celebrate FIVE people!   That’s not counting two brothers-in-law and one nephew.  Today, I want to recognize those who I love dearly, and I am thankful for their beautiful lives:  Heather, Tim, David, Rick, Steve, Mary, Jeremiah, and Sam.  HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

Two weeks ago, Rick and I deposited Kid#3 Jeremiah (our last chick to leave the nest – at 25 – it’s about time!) in another state to attend medical school.  For his birthday today, he and the Lord are communing together.  I love you, Jere.  Happy Birthday!

For those of you who pray, pray today for the Syria conflict.  I do not trust those in power who make decisions for our nation, but I DO trust in The One Who made them and ask the Lord to order their steps and grant them divine wisdom.  Where is OUR George Washington?  In the book The Real George Washington , page 175, Washington wrote to Congress, “On our side the war should be defensive…We should on all occasions avoid a general action or put anything to the risk unless compelled by necessity, into which we ought never to be drawn.”  Of course, in context, Washington was writing regarding his weakened army.  I don’t consider the US forces as weak, but I am of the opinion that Washington’s comment is appropriate for this occasion, and this is my two cents.

Peace and love.  Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.  God bless Israel.  God help America and have mercy on her.

3 Comments

  1. WordsFallFromMyEyes / Sep 6 2013 10:43 PM

    The Syria conflict is pretty heavy. It’s just too sad to me, the world keeps on going this way – again & again & again.

  2. Sue G / Sep 5 2013 8:29 PM

    Praying for this world. Trusting in the One Who created it. Have to keep reminding myself of what I know- He IS in control because honestly there are days I just want to give out spankings!

    Love it when I have time to pop in and visit you and visit Brin….I do think we would have a lot to chat about should our paths meet!
    Sue

  3. Vickie / Sep 2 2013 11:11 PM

    Well, a big ole Happy Birthday to all y’all’s birthday people! Expensive month, huh! Ours is December. Hope things are going well for the Wisdom bunch! About your post – I have no faith in our leadership either. Sad state of affairs that we have in the White House. George Washington would, I’m afraid, be rolling in his grave if he knew what was going on in these times! Hugs~~~

Comments are closed.