Skip to content
August 15, 2013 / dcwisdom

And now back to my regularly scheduled program…

College algebra is done!  When I checked out of the testing center, I cried.  Yes, I did.  The ladies understood.  One asked, “How does it feel?”  I said, “This was the hardest thing (college algebra in five weeks) I ever did, except birth five children.  I feel like I’ve been in hard labor for five weeks and finally birthed my sixth!  I feel relieved!”

One interesting thing about online study courses is that these programs instantly tell you, with plenty statistics, exactly what progress you make in the course.  And in these two conjoined rooms with 40 other people working on their own tests, I couldn’t very well express my elation when I submitted my test and immediately clicked to see my score.  My heart flipped.  The test score showed a healthy C!  Are you kidding?!  An algebra dummy taking college algebra online in five weeks?!  The C might as well have been an A!  I’ve never been more proud of a C in all my life!

And with that, I’m done with college.  I have many people to thank (gee, sounds like I’m accepting an Oscar or something):

  • Rick – for watching me hibernate and not cook, wash, clean house, or mow the yard for a month and for his moral support and encouragement.  But I did take his truck to the detail shop today, and my yards look horrible!
  • My kids – for their You can do it, Mom!;
  • Kid#3 Jeremiah – my patient/impatient tutor who spent many hours with me, bantering back and forth Jeremiah, help me!  Mom, listen to me!  We pulled our own hair out!
  • My tutors – Victor, Evelyn, Chris, and Gabriel, the math geniuses, who spent many hours imparting their knowledge and excitement about math to me;
  • My professor who exhorted me to push on;
  • My mom and sister K who encouraged me to finish what I started 39 years ago;
  • My choir that allowed their director to chase her own dream for a few weeks;
  • And finally, you, my friends who text me your prayers and words of encouragement.

Thank you all so much.  I didn’t do this alone.  I applaud you for being great, caring people.  Just what our lonely, hurting world needs today.

Peace and love.  Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.  God bless Israel.  God help America and have mercy on her.

2 Comments

  1. WordsFallFromMyEyes / Sep 6 2013 10:45 PM

    OMG you’re busy!! And algebra? Huge respect to you there! 🙂

  2. Debbie / Aug 15 2013 7:52 AM

    So proud of you friend!

Comments are closed.