Skip to content
August 13, 2013 / dcwisdom

I have to write something – get my head out of the numbers…

For the last four weeks, a massive flood of mathematical information crammed its way into my unsuspecting, old lady head, every left-brain neuron firing away, trying to re-vitalize that long-ignored lobe.  There’s a limit for stored information according to the processing, however, and much hasn’t processed due to time, but much has.  As I labored over working matrices, I learned that it takes hours to figure them on paper but only minutes (sometimes seconds) by calculator.  So, I quickly learned about the calculator’s abilities to figure at sonic speed after I spent an entire evening working on only one problem.  Part of my warp-speed learning.

I only hope I pass.  Believe me, it’s iffy.

For those of you math brainiacs out there, please forgive me for whining over college algebra.  I realize how it seems to you since I have the similar perspective of parents who whine about having only two kids.  I recently heard a mom of two giving a mom of five parenting advice.  Please.  

And speaking of kids, Kid#3 Jeremiah is moving on with his life, leaving me at home, alone, with his dad.  *sigh*  Jeremiah leaves Saturday for medical school.  This kid and I have connections; we go back a long way.  And he’s the last one to leave the nest, and I’m sure I’ll shed a few tears.  Two or three.

HELLO, EMPTY NEST!  After 34 years of kids at home, I’m due!

Plus, I’ll be done with algebra.  Hot dog!  It’s a good week!

Peace and love.  Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.  God bless Israel.  God help America and have mercy on her.

3 Comments

  1. WordsFallFromMyEyes / Sep 6 2013 10:47 PM

    Wow. I have only one son, aged 17 1/2 & I’m actually looking forward to an empty nest, not having to make dinners etc… but he fills the place so much, our little flat, fills it with his friends, his vibes, his dreams, efforts day upon day. No, I’ll miss him. Well done on 34 years. WOW.

  2. Debbie / Aug 13 2013 8:22 AM

    I’ll let you borrow my book about ’empty nest’ survival! 😀

  3. jmgoyder / Aug 13 2013 12:55 AM

    I don’t envy you!

Comments are closed.