Skip to content
August 3, 2013 / dcwisdom

The Last Class: The Dreaded Algebra

My brother and sister bloglanders who still bother to click to this lonely, forlorn blog (I have been so willfully neglectful of posting anything this summer/year and for good reason), bless you!  And thank you.  You have crossed my mind many times, but keeping up a blog costs time and effort – much of neither I’ve had lately.

A few times, I had interest-worthy events to post, like the early morning a Copperhead snake could have taken a nice bite of my arm quite easily but just sat curled up looking at me and my heart didn’t stop racing for an hour.  Real interesting stuff like that.

Regarding my collegiate activities, I can FINALLY see the light glowing brightly at the end of the tunnel.  I’m almost there.  In two weeks, I will complete my BAAS degree…If I pass algebra.  I signed up for both summer sessions in May, but the class didn’t make (meaning not enough people enrolled to pay a professor to teach the class).  The only class offered this summer was an online, five-week course through the local community college.  Not wanting to postpone the class until fall, I eagerly signed up.  HOW STUPID WAS I?!?! 

So here’s a word of advice for any idiots like me.  If you haven’t formally studied any kind of math in 40 years, DON’T sign up for the five-week/online summer college algebra class!  Talk about something that will beat your brains out!  That’s one entire chapter and test every six days!  Only real idiots, like myself, do stuff like this!

That’s where I am now, with reams of paper surrounding me…bleary-eyed…Fortunately, I haven’t dreamed in algebraic equations.  Tomorrow’s another algebra marathon. 

Take care, dear ones, of your algorithms, theorems, polynomials, and y-intercepts.  I’ll get back here in a couple of weeks and we’ll celebrate!

Peace and love.  Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.  God bless Israel.  God help America and have mercy on her.

One Comment

  1. Debbie / Aug 4 2013 6:58 AM

    Well I for one am very proud of you. I know it must be hard and I’m not sure I could have done what you’ve done. I didn’t even try. You did, You won! They say the best things in life are free, but a lot of them come at the price of hard work and sacrifice. Congratulations! Love ya kid!

Comments are closed.