Skip to content
July 6, 2013 / dcwisdom

In the Yard – A Quiet Post

The critters in the yard out my kitchen window entertain me everyday.  Sometimes, I prop myself on my elbows, stare out the window, and study the animals.  Because I live on the edge of the woods, I dare say, I might have seen every resident forest creature cross the wood line to meadow and back to forest.  Except for the black panther.  I’ve heard her scream, but she’s an elusive cat.

DSC_0004

The rabbit population increased the last few years.   They chase each other around the trees and jump up on each other like they’re doing the bump or the high-five.  Their nest is behind the firewood against the shed.

DSC_0008

This rabbit ran too fast for Gray!

DSC_0014

I, Squirrely Shirley, finally out-smarted the squirrels by hanging the bird feeders on a galvanized wire, but, not to worry; they get their fair share of the peanuts, corn, and sunflower seeds.  Along with the song birds, the dove and pigeons visit.   The animal scene amazes me at times – that they all come together, the squirrels, birds, and rabbits, and peacefully share a seed meal at the my wild pet cafe’.

DSC_0016

And where is Gray, the cat?

DSC_0056

Today, with a yard full of feathered friends around him, he hugged the barbeque grill for a peaceful snooze.

Peace and love.  Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.  God bless Israel.  God help America and have mercy on her.

 

2 Comments

  1. Sue G / Jul 25 2013 8:34 AM

    We caught one of the squirrels drinking our hummingbird syrup. He removed the yellow tip and guzzled away. Finding ways to keep him off has become my husband’s latest challenge. We LOVE watching the wildlife in our yard!

  2. jmgoyder / Jul 7 2013 4:49 AM

    xxx

Comments are closed.