Skip to content
June 11, 2013 / dcwisdom

From Molehills to Mountains

The corner of the earth from which I hail displays its splendor in molehills.  Comparatively speaking, of course.  I love these East Texas hills compared with the flatness and blandness of North Texas.  In Dallas, if you climb to the 2nd floor of any building, you can see the curvature of the earth.  Well, ok, maybe not the 2nd floor and maybe not the curvature of the earth, but you get my drift.

These here hills are molehills compared to the Rockies.  Anything is.  The Rockies are breathtaking.  Now I can testify that the Appalachians are breathtakingly romantic.  The Blue Ridge Mountains were never a destination for me, but now having been there, I want to go back.  My good friend, Max Taylor, retired military, great speaker, hiker, and completer of the Appalachian Trail, touted his hiking journeys through those beautiful mountains many times.   Now, I understand why.  Makes me want to go walk about a mile of the Trail just to say “I hiked a mile of the Appalachian Trail.”

Black Mountain, North CarolinaBlack Mountain, North Carolina

This quaint little town of Black Mountain, North Carolina, sits right smack east of Asheville.  Artists display and sell here.  Black Mountain pushes right up to quiet Montreat, a gated community where Presbyterian College nestles and where Billy and Ruth Graham married.  Further up a rabbit trail in Montreat is Billy Graham’s home, and the area residents protect and LOVE Billy Graham and his family.

DSC_0044Some 25 years ago, The Billy Graham Association founded The Cove, Billy Graham Training Center, directly off Exit 55 in Asheville.  The Cove hosts people from around the world who want a quiet, reflective retreat space in the mountains.  The booking list of speakers and musicians is impressive.

But I want to save The Cove for another post.  It’s too beautiful and needs more attention than just a nod.

Peace and love.  Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.  God bless Israel.  God help American and have mercy on her.

 

 

2 Comments

  1. jmgoyder / Jun 12 2013 1:49 AM

    Looking forward to the Cove.

  2. Debbie / Jun 11 2013 1:50 PM

    I totally agree! I fell in love with that area a few years back, and I would LOVE to have the time to visit again. Looking forward to more posts about that. BTW, you can’t see anything from 2nd stories in Dallas except other buildings! Spent 20 years of my life in that city and have no desire to return there. No Offense, Dallasites. It’s just too confining! I prefer the openness of the cornfields and space here in the Midwest, just wish I could have all this in Texas.
    I’m so glad you had the privilege of going on this trip to NC. I can tell you enjoyed it!
    Debbie

Comments are closed.