Skip to content
June 8, 2013 / dcwisdom

A Real Treat

Between semesters, and highly anticipating my LAST summer college class before graduation, my mom and aunt treated me to one of the best vacations ever! Truthfully, when Mom approached me last year about attending a conference at Billy Graham’s Training Center, The Cove, the thought didn’t send a thrill up my leg. But this year, my aunt graciously shared some good fortune and treated four of us to a few days in the Blue Ridge Mountains. May was the perfect month to travel; we experienced beautiful weather, and the mountainsides were in full bloom. Quite a difference from hot, humid East Texas.

My aunt and her Vanna White pose at a Civil War battle site in Franklin, TN

My mom and aunt and her Vanna White pose at a Civil War battle site in Franklin, TN

We made our first tourist-y stop in Franklin, TN, and hung out in the BK (Burger King) trying to spot a C&W celebrity. No luck. But I did have a Burger King burger my way, and I did sleep at a Holiday Inn Express that night.

Looking north on the main street of Franklin toward Nashville

Looking north on the main street of Franklin toward Nashville

I’ll share more of this great adventure later. Going for some beauty sleep.
Peace and love. Pray for the peace of Jerusalem. God bless Israel. God help America and have mercy on her.

2 Comments

  1. Debbie / Jun 9 2013 9:02 AM

    Can’t wait to hear more and see pics. I’ve never visited Tennessee, only driving thru on my way to NC. I should go there!
    Deb

  2. Vickie / Jun 9 2013 12:22 AM

    Don’t you love Franklin? It’s a beautiful little town – you should go in the fall, too – it’s gorgeous and they have the most beautiful and biggest farmers market EVER. I love Franklin! I’m glad you had a great trip!!! The Smoky Mountains are so pretty! (what a sweet aunt you have!)

Comments are closed.