Skip to content
April 12, 2013 / dcwisdom

Hello, Queen Debbie?

It’s a funny thing – names.

Cruising internet articles tonight – like I have nothing else to do, like go to bed, or worse yet, study – I read a couple (actually, more than a couple) of light articles.  One grabbed my attention:  “Queen Debbie doesn’t quite have the right ring to it. King Bob just sounds wrong,” was the by-line for the article about what Prince William and Kate Middleton might call their firstborn.  Quite frankly, I like the sound of “Debbie” for their daughter, but “Bob” is just too common.  Don’t you think?

Another article rang a bell for me.  Maybe she’s schizo or wants an alter ego to blame for future failures, but one free thinking mom’s perspective articulated specific reasons she wants to be called “Ms. Eva” instead of “Mom.”

Personally, I never had a problem with my kids – or other kids – calling me Mom.  Since my boys were teenagers, I’ve housed and fed a few boys other than my own, and they still call me “Mom.”  Makes me proud they love me that much.  I also have a few adopted daughters who I happily call my own.   My beloved Amber child sends me cards addressed to “Mom.”  She’s my favorite child.

And most likely, every mother has experienced the crowded store scenario when a child calls out “Mom!” and every mother’s head jerks in the direction of the voice.

One fear I have is what my own grandchildren (someday) will call me.  But you have to know my children to understand what I’m saying.  Recently, my dearly beloved girls and I discussed which parts of their parents they got at birth.  You know the conversation:  I got this bad trait from Dad or I got Mom’s horrible…Seems like these talks always major in the negatives.  I’m then forced to turn the talk to the positives just so they maintain some balance on their perspectives.  But I digress.  So one trait they all get from their dad is nickname-calling.  Everybody – human and animal alike – are assigned nicknames, sometimes multiple nicknames.  For instance, Kid #3 Jeremiah during toddler-hood was nicknamed Rodriguez and Hottee-dot-baby-doll-scooter-bug-hoss-fly-dude.  Don’t even ask.   All my kids have multiple nicknames, and with that assigned burden from their father, they in turn tend to make up ghastly names for everybody they know, like, or don’t like.   Hilarious names.

And that’s why I’m afeared.  When Kid#2 Rich married, our family was automatically blessed with two beautiful young children who I’ve written about in past posts.  Very sweetly, I thought (considering), my children asked Rick and me what we wanted to be called as step-grandparents.  And without another second escaping, the name calling began – MeeMaw and PeePaw.  MaMoo and PaPoo.  GooGoo and PooPoo.  Granny and Grunt.

Do you (if you’re old enough) remember the film “Love Story” where Ali McGraw’s character, Jennifer, called her father by his name, Phil?  When she talked to him on the phone, she said, “I love you, too, Phil.”  I always remembered that.  So, when I finally decided that Granny or GooGoo wouldn’t work for me, I decided I wanted to be called Debra.

Well, the ruckus my children made!  “NO, Mom!  That’s not grandmotherly!”

Rick and I finally settled on Grandad and Grandmom, trying to keep it civil.  So, we write letters or cards to our little cherubs and sign them as such.  However, as you know, some children just can’t grab onto a name and sometime invent their own name for you as to their comfort level.  “Grandad” took.  Now, when they call, Grandad will talk to them, and Madie will say, “Grandad, I need to talk to Aunt Debbie.  Hello, Aunt Debbie…”

So, it’s Grandad and Aunt Debbie.  I don’t know how it will play out when I become a biological grandmother, especially if left to my highly imaginative children.  Only time will tell.

But I kinda like the ring of Queen Debbie.

Peace and love.  Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.  God bless Israel.  God help America and have mercy on her.

4 Comments

  1. Layne / Apr 13 2013 11:09 AM

    I just love your honesty and perspective and ability to articulate it all!!! I’m kinda likin’ that Queen Debbie, too. Afterall, your mom is the Queen Mother!

    • dcwisdom / Apr 14 2013 10:36 PM

      Where have you been, girlfriend?

  2. jmgoyder / Apr 12 2013 2:31 AM

    You are hilarious, Queen Debbie!

    • dcwisdom / Apr 12 2013 8:49 AM

      This is my life.

Comments are closed.