Skip to content
February 5, 2013 / dcwisdom

Slogging Through Algebra

So, I’m slogging (I like this word) through Algebra, the elementary class which equals Saxon 1/2.  I laugh at myself for being so inept at math, chiding my goosey self, repenting, and then speaking prayers over myself.   It’s vicious cycle.

Sunday night, my pastor spoke about the subject of fear and how we as Christians do not have to fear things in life because of Christ’s victory over fear and death.  I take great comfort in that.  Normally, I’m not a fearful person, but as I grow older, I find things I don’t know about myself through these experiences I choose.  The journey of triumphing this fear, of which I have several months to go, is tough.  Listen.  I know what some of you are thinking.  Math?  Are you kidding?  Come on!  I’m telling you, though, it’s a mental block, a mental fear, and not something that comes easily.  Writing is easy.  Math is a mountain.

…………

Last weekend, I accompanied my mom to a beautiful retreat in Central Texas.  While she busied herself, I walked about and took some pictures, enjoyed the Texas winter, and just breathed some different air.  The peace and quiet absorbed me.

DSC_0332I now have a new “job”, actually a volunteer position, in my church as choir director.  Several months ago, my pastor approached me about the position, and we discussed it over the months.  I am truly excited about building a music program from scratch.  In coordination with this position, my research project in my final class (besides algebra) before graduation is an element of church music about which all ministers wonder:  the direction of church music.   Job and study combined, I hope to find and introduce a style of worship to address the interests of both traditional and contemporary worship.  I realize some churches are doing a form of this; I hoping to find new ground.  Searching…

Peace and love.  Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.  God bless Israel.  God help America and have mercy on her.

2 Comments

  1. Vickie / Feb 6 2013 10:51 AM

    YOU AND ME BOTH, GIRL. I barely passed all the math stuff in high school. Didn’t have to take any in college. You’ll do fine – you’re a smart gal. Just move that “block” out of the way. We at our church have struggled with that traditional/contemporary thing. Tony and I tend to be more traditional, but churches in general are losing their young people. If we want to grow, we’re going to have to embrace a more youthful and contemporary outlook – without being unBiblical. Truth is always the most important. But I think there are ways to move about and include the younger generation within Biblical truths. Our future as a church is our youth.

    My chicken. Hmmm. I’ve researched everything I can get my hands on. Even went to some chicken forums – nobody knows what it is. It obviously isn’t contagious as none of my others have gotten that way and it’s been a good 6-7 months. Oh well… Have a wonderful algebraic week! Love you!

    • dcwisdom / Feb 7 2013 12:05 AM

      Chickie,
      Yes, I agree with you. It’s time to move forward. A pastor made the same comment as you about losing the younger people, so, yes, you’re right. Thanks for your support. I need and appreciate it.
      Vet time for you. Do you think the condition would affect the meat? Interesting that nobody could help you with that.
      Pray that I have the mind of Christ. 🙂 Thanks.
      Love ya, kid.

Comments are closed.