Skip to content
January 12, 2013 / dcwisdom

M R 2 Ducks

The Arkansas 12th Exit Level Reading Test:

1.  M R DUCKS.

2.  M R KNOTT.

3.  S A R.  C M WANGS?

4.  L I B.

5.  M R DUCKS.

Please forgive me.  I mean no disrespect to anyone from The Natural State.  Truly.  But I couldn’t help posting the reading test along with the Foie Gras recipe below.  Did you pass the reading test?  I remember my dad giving people this reading test as a joke when I was a girl.  It’s that old.  Sorry to anyone offended.  No offense intended.  How many times do I need to say this?  Just trying to cover myself here.

My three boys are duck hunters.  One of my guys, Kid #3 and middle brother Jeremiah, has more time on his hands than he needs and produced a silly video about him and his younger brother, Sam, going duck hunting…

…which I am sharing here.

It’s so typical.  These two younger brothers have extremely big heads (meaning they are full of themselves).  None of my guys (or girls, either) suffer from lack of self-esteem, and Jeremiah has started a competition of which, I’m sure, will lead to epic, competitive proportions in the video world.

Last week,  Sam shot a goose and threw away the liver (arrrrrgh!) from which Foie Gras (French for “fat liver”) is made.  I confess:  I didn’t even know what Foie Gras was until my culinary chef daughter-in-law Emily screeched, “What?!  You didn’t save the liver?!”   Questioning her exclamation, my interest piqued, especially since the guys hunt often.  I found one great looking recipe with caramelized apples on YouTube that I definitely want to try.  (If clicking doesn’t link up and you’re still interested, Google Foie Gras with caramelized apples, and that should get you to the recipe.)  I heard that the taste is indescribable!   And that Foie Gras is so unaffordable for the average person, such as myself, in most upscale restaurants.  And I rarely cross the thresholds of upscale restaurants.  Hence, why I know nothing about Foie Gras…

Much to my chagrin.

You know I will make this stuff as soon as I can locate a liver.

Peace and love.  Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.  God bless Israel.  God, please help America!

