Skip to content
January 3, 2013 / dcwisdom

Yappy Hew Near

So, the story goes that a certain person (who I won’t name) grabbed another certain person (again who I won’t name – but you both know who you are!) by the face, pulled her in close, smacked her on the lips, and slurred the words, “Cherry Mismas and Yappy Hew Near!”  In spite of the situation in which these words were spoken, I kinda like the greeting.  Aggies Sooners

Happy New Year, y’all, and I wish you a blessed and prosperous 2013.

I cannot think of a better way to celebrate the new year than watching the Aggies and Sooners in the Cotton Bowl.   One of my sisters text and offered Rick and me free Executive Suite tickets with a Lot 1 parking pass at Jerry’s World (Cowboy Stadium)!   Whoop!   So, I went and bought new jeans.  And blouse.  Scarf, coat, and boots.  Got a manicure and haircut.  Tomorrow, Rick’s washing the truck.

Sounds like a country girl going to the big city.  Yep.  How often do I get an invitation like this?   Like, never.  I’m taking my camera, so you’ll get the photos.  Sister told us to be there by 5:00 for dinner in the suite.  Wow.  They also provide unlimited snacks.  Heated.  Comfortable.  A totally new experience for us.  I’m eager to see how the rich and privileged view a bowl game.

In case you don’t know this, Texas Aggies have a long-standing tradition called “The 12th Man” where each and every Aggie fan stands the entire game, minus half-time, to support the team.  Sitting during the game will be different, but who knows.  We may honor tradition and stand.   And maybe we’ll be so stuffed and sleepy and lazy after that big meal that we’ll just take a nap before the game and cheer from our warm seats.

This is one Aggie football game I’ll always remember.

Yappy Hew Near!

Peace and love.  Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.  God bless Israel.  God help America.

 

3 Comments

  1. debby9972 / Jan 4 2013 12:50 PM

    Happy New Year!

  2. tanna / Jan 3 2013 7:00 AM

    Oh, Debbie! Sounds so FUN!! Can’t wait to hear all about it!! =D blessings ~ tanna

  3. jmgoyder / Jan 3 2013 3:50 AM

    It took me awhile to figure out you were talking football – Happy New Year!xxx

Comments are closed.