Skip to content
December 18, 2012 / dcwisdom

Merry Christmas, Toot Pot

Dear Friends,

1-DSC_0224Merry Christmas!

I pray for you all a blessed and the merriest of Christmases.

We all know that for many people this time of year brings heartache, grief, and sadness, for time is not a respecter of persons or events.  1-DSC_0225

I pray that if you’re in this circumstance of life that you can find comfort in the Christmas Story – the story about the Savior of the world who left His heavenly throne to be born of a virgin.  God Himself put on flesh in the person of Jesus and presented Himself as fully God and fully man.   DSC_0220

“When all things began, the Word already was.  The Word dwelt with God, and what God was, the Word was.  The Word, then, was with God at the beginning, and through him all things came to be; no single thing was created without him.  All that came to be was alive with his life, and that life was the light of men.  The light shines on in the dark, and the darkness has never mastered it.”   (John 1:1-5, NEB)

More than ever, I love Christmas.   Even though I drag in the decorating department (I think because of the tremendous effort it takes), I love the joyfulness, the music, the happy greetings, the festivities, the lights…

…and the message.1-1-DSC_0222

“So the Word became flesh; he came to dwell among us, and we saw his glory as befits the Father’s only Son, full of grace and truth.”  (John 1:14-15, NEB)

My favorite Bible story is the Christmas Story, and I find myself reading it several times during the year.  God knew that this was a strange way to save the world, and He sent the prophets to forecast the birth of the Savior:

“For a boy has been born for us, a son given to us to bear the symbol of dominion on his shoulder; and he shall be called in purpose Wonderful, in battle God-like, Father for all time, Prince of peace.”  (Isaiah 9:6, NEB)   1-DSC_0227

For those who live hand-to-mouth, for the homeless, the helpless, the struggling ones, I pray that God will meet your need.  Brin just came in with the sad story of a family in great need.  She’s gathering troops and food for the cause, and we’ll make sure the little ones are blessed and help the parents, too.

Because, that is the essence of Christmas.  Just as God provided a Savior for a helpless, hopelessly lost world, we in turn give to those in need.

“I am the light of the world.  No follower of mine shall wander in the dark; he shall have the light of life.” (John 8:12, NEB)

Merry Christmas, Dear Friends and Family.

Merry Christmas, Toot Pot.

Peace and love.  Comfort and joy.  Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.  God bless Israel.  God help America.

 

 

 

 

5 Comments

  1. tanna / Dec 21 2012 6:35 AM

    Beautiful post, Debbie. Now, whose Toot Pot? 😉 Wishing you and yours a warm and joy filled CHRISTmas. blessings ~ tanna

  2. jmgoyder / Dec 18 2012 8:18 PM

    Merry Christmas to you too Wisdom!

    • dcwisdom / Dec 19 2012 12:11 AM

      Give Ants a kiss for me. 🙂

  3. Vickie / Dec 18 2012 4:35 PM

    Okaaaayyyy, so are you going to tell us who “Toot Pot” is? I imagine it’s kinda like “Stink Pot” – that’s what my folks called us kids…

    I’m just in a funk this year about Christmas. Such a stressful time, and the news in Connecticut, and two of my kids being gone, and and and…

    I need to get outside myself, I know. I’ve kinda pulled inward this year and it just doesn’t feel right. I’ll be alrlight next week when the festivities start, but SOOO much to do before then. I just now got my tree up…

    Did Jere ever decide where he’s gonna wind up?

    • dcwisdom / Dec 19 2012 12:11 AM

      It’s just because we missed our annual visitation and field trip! 😦 Sorry about your funk. It happens. We just need a good girlfriend day, doncha think? XO

Comments are closed.