Skip to content
December 4, 2012 / dcwisdom

Road Trip

How do you spell road trip?  R-E-L-I-E-F!

1-DSC_0155-001

There’s nothing like a road trip to cure common ilk.  I needed this ill-timed break to dash away collegiate cobwebs, take a breath, and renew my focus to tackle upcoming finals.

Kid #3 Jeremiah and I took to the hills last week and sped to Nashville.  We were maybe/probably four weeks too late to catch the fall colors, but we caught Nashville lights and the CMT Top 20 pre-show at the Bridgestone Arena.

Do you know this country star?  1-DSC_0191

Sorry, but I don’t.  I couldn’t even get the TV tech guys to put names to their faces.  One TV tech guy said he stood next to a famous man for 20 minutes and didn’t even know who the guy was until somebody told him.  Jeremiah snapped a picture and sent it to Kid #2 Rich who is a C/W fan.  He thought it was Karen somebody.  Maybe you know.  1-DSC_0189

Of course, we met up with a new friend of ours named Paul, one of Nashville’s homeless population.  He kind of adopted us for a few minutes, enough to tell his story and ask for a meal.  Now, I’ve heard enough homeless stories to know that a great majority of them are fabricated to suit the listener, pull the heartstrings and tears enough to open the wallet.  And, of course, that’s what happened.  I’m such a sucker.  Before I handed him money [because that’s what Christians do.  Jesus said if a man asks for your shirt, you give him your coat], Paul was gracious and open to serious conversation.  After our exchange, Jeremiah, beautiful Paul, and I huddled together on the street corner and prayed.  Let me say this:  I don’t do that for show.  Life is too important and valuable, and time is too short for show, and people need to hear, understand, and accept the Gospel of Jesus Christ before their time ends, whenever that may be.

Paul, you’re in my prayers every day.

Another special guy we saw was our (actual) long-time friend, Jeremy.  1-DSC_0204Jeremiah and Jeremy (Jere and Jere) grew up playing Little League and home schooling together and continue their friendship.  Jeremy is an RN in the coronary care unit of a Nashville hospital and was available for a visit over a hot plate of Jack’s barbeque.  I love watching these guys become real men of God!   It’s an incredible blessing to a mom.

The next few days are full, and I expect them to fly by.  My Thanksgiving decorations are still up.  Where’s my Christmas fairy?

Back to the books.

Peace and love.  Comfort and joy.  Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.  God bless Israel.  God help America.

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 Comments

  1. marylou55 / Dec 15 2012 1:26 AM

    I love that you two took the time to pray with the homeless man. Priceless!

  2. Vickie / Dec 4 2012 8:44 PM

    Such a handsome kid, ahem, young man. Welp, what was the verdict? Guess he can’t decide til all the votes are in. I’m anxious to hear! Girls still at your house? A little road trip is a nice break from the daily strain and you got to get away with ur kid and spend a little one on one with him. Always nice!

    • dcwisdom / Dec 4 2012 11:16 PM

      You were right, Chickie. Nashville’s a great town. If he chooses Nashville, you and I will be road trippin’! Let’s do it, Chickie!

Comments are closed.