Skip to content
November 27, 2012 / dcwisdom

It’s a New Day

Bless the Lord, O my soul, and all that is within me, bless His Holy Name.

I have to bless the Lord today.  My beautiful, peaceful, gray Monday turned busy toward the late afternoon with Brin and Mary temporarily moving back in with us.  ‘Tis the Season full of change for us all.  The events of late yesterday were like The Perfect Storm.  You know the storm is coming, and the weather forecast is for it to side-step you – go to the north or south of you – and you’re watching…

And it hits you full-force.

In the early evening, they landed on my doorstep with timid, begging looks and a chocolate-brown dog named Millie…Mom, it’s only for…the utilities are off…the cabin’s ordered…mid-December…

So you swing the door wide open and embrace the change – again – knowing it’s temporary – again – knowing it’s part of life and a blessing that you can accept or get mad about.  So I choose to allow and bless this change, knowing it is part of God’s purifying and refining fire.   It’s a season of life which I embrace with gratitude and joy.  And who wants the Grinch around for Christmas, anyway?!

Brin and I stayed up for a while discussing the interior plan of her little cabin.  It’s small, but I think she’ll enjoy it.  She won’t be taking in any more homeless people, though.  Brin will be my neighbor out at Renovation House, and she can watch the place while we’re not there.  She, Rick, and the boys moved the chicken pen Sunday to the far end of the property towards the woods, and I think I’ll enjoy having chickens around, as long as they stay in that area.  Otherwise, I’ll have to purchase plenty of “stink’em” spray to keep them from eating my yard plants.  For the sakes of my dear readers, I don’t want a repost of the rooster story.  🙂

Last month, the deer came into the yard and devoured all my beautiful hostas and the English ivy as far as they could graze up the trees.  There are so many deer in this area that the state wildlife department increased the number of deer hunters can “bag” for the season.  So, we’re expecting to fill the freezer again this year with venison.

The great thing about Renovation House right now is it’s the perfect deer stand.  Last year, the boys each took a second-floor window from which to hunt.  They stayed warm and toasty while the cold winds blew outside. 

Finishing my term paper today…finally.  I have plenty to do, so I’d best be off.

Peace and love.  Comfort and joy.  Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.  God bless Israel.  God help America.

4 Comments

  1. marylou55 / Dec 3 2012 10:57 AM

    Love how the guys hunt! I’ve been out of the blog world and just getting back in. I’ve missed your stories and will take the time to go back and read. Hope school is doing well for you.

  2. Vickie / Nov 28 2012 8:31 PM

    Hey girl – well, nothing stays the same, does it? Well, put those gals to work cooking and cleaning for Christmas! It’ll be good to have them around while you’re out of school. Hope you get some venison!

    I hadn’t thought about spraying my shrubs and flowers. The chickens have scratched all around my house and have jumped over the little picket fences around the beds. only good thing – they raked all the fallen leaves out of the beds.
    ha!

  3. tanna / Nov 28 2012 5:41 AM

    Change is one thing we can count on… just about the time we get used to one way of things… another comes along… you have the right attitude, Debbie. Embrace! And Enjoy. blessings ~ tanna
    I’m watchin’… 😉

  4. debsladybugtexas / Nov 27 2012 11:27 AM

    That’s good you can fill your freezer my son is hoping to get one this weekend

Comments are closed.