Skip to content
November 26, 2012 / dcwisdom

Give Me a Quiet Monday

Ahhhh…

Nothing exciting today, and my mind’s wandering…

I sat down a few minutes ago intending to study and type on my term paper due December 1.  Instead, I’m reflecting on the weekend and anticipating the week ahead.  The house is quiet, and I only hear the clocks ticking.  I raised the window blind to let in the gray light outside, and the scene reminded me of Karen Carpenter’s song Rainy Days and Mondays.  She sang that rainy days and Mondays always “get me down,” but I love both Mondays and rainy days, although at the moment the sky is only gray.  After all the hubbub and beehive activity of the long, holiday weekend – kids in and out, extra kids and family in and out, visiting, cooking, laying floors in Renovation House, Christmas play practice -, my spirit is ready for some quiet time, reflectivity, and recharging.  But only for a moment.  My term paper is just a cyber page away.

This is the view from my window. 

And the sky is getting grayer.  Maybe much-needed rain will come today.  Lord, send the rain.

Lord willing and the creek don’t rise, Jeremiah has an interview for his graduate doctoral program this week, so he and I drive to Nashville, Tennessee, in a couple of days.  Of course, the only reason Miss Moneybags (ha!) tags along is to pay for things, you know.  In December, we go to Missouri to look at another program there.  I told him last night that he will help with the driving.  As we travel, I hope to catch up on my text reading.  Mid-terms are just around the corner.

One of the kids asked me yesterday, “Mom, when will you put up the Christmas tree?”  This year, I wish I had a Christmas tree and decoration fairy to wave her magic wand around my house.  I hesitate to install a real tree since we’ve had so little rain this year.  I saw the cutest, skinniest, little five-foot, pinkish-purpley, aluminum tree (man, that was a string of adjectives!) last week at our local hardware store.  If I could get away with it, I’d buy it.  My little granddaughter, Madi, would love it!  Who knows – it may happen… 😉

Oh, and speaking of Madi, her birthday is Saturday.  She wants some white puppy Stompeeze? (house shoes), so being the good grandmom I am, she’ll get them!

Well, enough.  Recharging done, I say, especially after I take my B vitamins.  And to you I say – Y’all have a wonderful day!  Be blessed.

Peace and love.  Comfort and joy.  Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.  God bless Israel.  God help America.

6 Comments

  1. debsladybugtexas / Nov 26 2012 11:14 PM

    It’s always nice to reflect on holidays and its bittersweet when everyone goes home…good luck with the paper

    • dcwisdom / Nov 26 2012 11:35 PM

      Thanks, Deb. I was ready for everyone to go home, and low and behold, my two girls temporarily moved in today while waiting for their housing situation to be resolved. Oh well…I keep reminding myself it’s only temporary. *sigh* It will be a busy Christmas season.

  2. tanna / Nov 26 2012 3:44 PM

    Your Madi is precious, Debbie! But, I know you know that! LOL! Hope your term paper has flown off the keyboard and is sitting in the basket ready to go. 😉 Be safe in your travels if we don’t hear from you again before then. blessings ~ tanna

    • dcwisdom / Nov 26 2012 11:32 PM

      Madi’s a mess and quite the character. Don’t let her beautiful, sweet face deceive you. 🙂 haha…Need another day on the paper. Should finish tomorrow. Thanks, Tanna.

  3. Vickie / Nov 26 2012 3:44 PM

    Hey friend – Thanks so much for the funny birthday card! I just opened the mail yesterday evening after a long Thanksgiving holiday. Last kids left yesterday and I took a 4 hr nap! It was divine! I was gonna try to call ya and catch up a little bit before you took off to the ‘Ville. Hope that goes well – I’m sure Jeremiah will do great – he’ll only have to pick which one he wants. For Pete’s sake – make him drive the whole way – that’s what he’ll be doing. That’s a cute little granddaughter you’ve got there – by all means – go get those white puppy Stompeeze! A girl’s gotta have her fuzzy house shoes! Love you Gib (or is it Jib?)

    • dcwisdom / Nov 26 2012 11:30 PM

      LOL Glad you liked your Mr. Rogers birthday card. I thought it was cute. Were you surprised I remembered? Actually, I thought of yours and missed a couple of others. Maybe they’ll forgive me – again… My Walmart list for tomorrow: Stompeeze, belated birthday card, milk…can you think of anything else? 🙂 Love ya, kid. I kinda like your giblet.

Comments are closed.