Skip to content
November 25, 2012 / dcwisdom

The Benevolence of Food

I love my family!   They are beautiful people.  Not everyone showed for the photography session; getting 38 people together for a picture is pretty darn difficult, so we grabbed the best opportunity we could.

Food, like music, is such an international language.  Food answers the roar of the stomach, the need for comfort, and the exchange of friendship.  Feeding people imparts the phileo love, the offshoot of  the perfect agape, unconditional love that feeds the heart and soul.

Thanksgiving Day, Sam, Emily, and I, and several friends spent part of our morning at a community church dinner, serving and delivering hot plates of turkey, dressing and giblet gravy, and desserts to the ill, disabled, shut-ins, and walk-ins.  We consider it a blessing and honor to help our community.

Believe it or not, cooking is not one of my favorite things to do, but I am a good cook.  It comes from many years of practice, I suppose like the doctor who practices medicine or the pianist who practices hours at the keyboard.  I’m more like a Paula Dean cook – home-style, comfort, big flavor and quantities.  Several years ago, a certain fact came to my attention – that fewer and fewer moms cook for their families.  And over the years, kids (and not just my own) surrounded my table for real home-cooked meals like chicken, steak, fish, meatloaf, pot roast, lasagna, beef stew, casseroles…

As my children turned older, I realized that more and more young adults aren’t learning to cook for themselves.  They spend wads of money in the drive-thru windows and starve for real food.  I suppose taking time to grocery shop, store, prepare, and eat real food bites into their social and entertainment time.  Instead of learning a new, cool skill like cooking, they’d rather be waiting in line for someone else to feed them.

Lazy, I say!

Do you (if you’re over 40) remember, say, 40 years ago, how we always ate at home?  My mom taught school every day, came home, prepared dinner every night and weekend.  We didn’t have a McDonald’s in every town, and smaller towns only had mom and pop cafés.  Eating at home was the norm; eating out was a privilege.

And, boy, I didn’t hear one complaint from this crowd!  Talk about enjoying a meal!  These kids weren’t even talking! Gobblegobblegobble…

Back to benevolence.  As we prepared to eat another meal with our over-sized family, four “guests” popped in.  More of my “kids.”  So, what could I say?  Come on in!  Please sit at the family table and allow me the honor of feeding you.  Right now, there’s no greater honor for me than for you to be here at our table.

Of course, thinking about food and benevolence, the story of Jesus feeding the crowd of five thousand comes to mind.  When Jesus saw the crowd, he moved with compassion toward them and healed their sick.  Later in the evening, the disciples wanted to send the crowd into nearby towns to eat, but Jesus saw the people as sheep without a shepherd and continued teaching them.  The disciples found a little boy with five bread loaves and two fish. Jesus took the small meal and blessed it, and the food was distributed among the 5000 people.  After the people ate as much as they wanted, the leftovers filled 12 baskets.   (Matthew 14, Mark 6, and John 6)

Jesus exhibited benevolence.  I can only imagine how that meal tasted after Jesus blessed it!  I LOVE blackened fish and sourdough bread!  And I pray that hungry kids who desire real food might have the same experience at my table, to be fed and blessed.

Jesus said, “I am the bread of life…I am the living bread which came down from heaven.  If anyone eats of this bread, he will live forever; and the bread that I shall give is My flesh, which I shall give for the life of the world” (John 6:48, 51).

“The Lord bless you and keep you; The Lord make His face shine upon you and be gracious to you; The Lord lift up His countenance upon you and give you peace” (Numbers 6:26).

Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.  God bless Israel.  God help America.

 

 

 

8 Comments

  1. tanna / Nov 26 2012 5:43 AM

    Looks like a perfect Thanksgiving gathering!!! and, my kind of food! Nothing better… gathering with loved ones, enjoying good food and giving Thanks… blessings ~ tanna
    ps I’m watchin’ come on down!

    • dcwisdom / Nov 26 2012 9:21 AM

      Hold on. I’m comin’!

  2. Vickie / Nov 25 2012 9:39 PM

    Did I miss you in that photo????

    • dcwisdom / Nov 26 2012 9:19 AM

      Yes. However, I was in my sister’s pictures.

  3. Vickie / Nov 25 2012 9:39 PM

    Ok, so here goes the eternal question — How do you say giblet? JIBlet, or GIBlet??? How wonderful that you had a houseful and some extras. And let’s here it for home-cooked food! Sounds like my house, too, Deb. We always had extra kids at our house, too. The more the merrier. We had on the AC at our house, too – and played outside – it was great! This was the first time since before Josh married that we had all three of our kids at home at once spending the night. They had a great time catching up with all of us, but those 3 spent alot of time together just them 3. Made this mama’s heart proud! Hugs!

    • dcwisdom / Nov 26 2012 9:19 AM

      My mama always says “jiblet” gravy, and I trust her pronunciation since she is an English teacher. Don’t you love it when they’re all so happy to be together?! Hugs back, my dear.

  4. jmgoyder / Nov 25 2012 3:21 AM

    What a beautiful post and pictures! And now I am hungry!

    • dcwisdom / Nov 25 2012 7:49 PM

      Thank you, ma’am. Go eat something. 🙂

Comments are closed.