Skip to content
November 21, 2012 / dcwisdom

The Perfect Thanksgiving Turkey Brine

The perfect brine for a smoked turkey.  To do Wednesday morning – 1 gallon water, 1/4 cup Kosher salt, 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1/8 cup Worcestershire Sauce, 3 cloves garlic (pressed).  Soak the washed and gutted turkey in a deep water cooler covered in two recipes brine and crushed ice.  Keep that tom cold!  He’ll be juicy and delicious no matter how he’s cooked.

Happy Thanksgiving!  Today, I thank the Lord for ice, air conditioning (yes, in Texas in November), and for pest control.  I have an infestation of ladybugs in this lowly trailer for two weeks, and the pest people are here.  If the offending insects were roaches, they’d meet the same demise.  Bugs in the house and I don’t jive.

And Hello!  We are finally to the point of putting down the subfloors in Renovation House!  Hallelujah!

Yes, this is progress!  Rick and I plan to finish the subfloor work Friday which hopefully won’t take all weekend.  No Black Friday for me.  I stays far away from those crazy crowds, and the crowds are getting crazier.  I say let the younger fight the crowds and shop at 3 a.m.  Leave the noon shopping for the old people!

I cried for two weeks over the election.   Then I got mad.  I’m thankful that Clinton, at least in words and most likely by a thread, is holding to America’s commitment to Israel, especially in the light of the trouble in Gaza.  Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.  God bless Israel.  God help America.

TO THE PEOPLE OF ISRAEL:  There are still many Americans on your side and fighting to maintain our alliance, and I’m one of them.  God promised that those who bless Israel will be blessed also.  I want God’s blessings, and I will hold you in my heart and prayers.  If I could come and fight with you, I would.  God bless you, Israel.

7 Comments

  1. tanna / Nov 23 2012 8:03 AM

    I’m just resting this morning instead of fighting the Black Friday madness! LOL! Hope your subflooring project goes smoothly and efficiently today. blessings and hugs ~ tanna

    • dcwisdom / Nov 24 2012 8:24 PM

      Tanna,
      Welp, we ALMOST finished today. We just have a small area left. We were just too tired to cut any more plywood at 5:30 this evening. Another half hour and it’s done! Thanks for sending blessings and hugs. 🙂

  2. southwestarkie / Nov 22 2012 4:18 PM

    The ladybugs are pretty thick around here too. Apparently they are meeting their own demise as my front porch was covered with the little buggers this morning- all passed on to a better place.
    Happy Thanksgiving!

    • dcwisdom / Nov 24 2012 8:25 PM

      Yes ‘um…ladybugs, flies, and bees around here. Please see my latest post. I hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving, too.

  3. Vickie / Nov 21 2012 10:00 PM

    Hey, buddy – Hope you and your family have a wonderful Thanksgiving! Soaking up all that family and friend love and hugs and memories – it’s what it’s all about! Love you!

    PS – we’re having ladybugs too. Last week or two, we’ve had an invasion of flies – I don’t how know they are getting in but they are coming in somewhere. I killed 17 in one day. Didn’t really see many during the summer but I guess a whole new crop hatched out or something. Vickie

  4. Deb / Nov 21 2012 1:12 PM

    oh no poor ladybugs…lol…I understand they should be outside…hope some escape…have a wonderful Thanksgiving with your family…looks like we will have awesome weather…

    • Debbie / Nov 21 2012 4:20 PM

      lol…I know…I thought about you when I posted. I would never be able to round all of them up and redistribute them into the wild. Oh well… This afternoon, I had a big swarm of bees (maybe 100 or more) on my hummingbird feeder. All but a handful have flown away, so long about sundown I’ll bring the feeder inside. It’s time.
      Happy Thanksgiving, Ladybug! 🙂

Comments are closed.