Skip to content
October 29, 2012 / dcwisdom

Jerry Jones and His ‘Boys

I am familiar with the American football field.  That’s the way my daddy raised his kids.  He played high school football, All-American football in college, Army football, and then coached and stayed, in some way, on the field his entire life.  His daughters and son received football education by osmosis, telepathy, the sidelines and grandstands, the locker room, television, radio, and whatever other means there are on which football signals and information travel.  My dad also made sure that we four girls married football men.  I can guarantee that ALL 18 grandchildren are football fans.  No kidding.

So, it stands to reason that our entire clan has professional teams we follow.  My poor kids get it from both sides.  We follow the Dallas Cowboys.

Why?  Why?  Why?

Ever since Jerry Jones bought the franchise and fired Tom Landry oh so many years ago, there’s been nothing but T-R-O-U-B-L-E!  Several years ago, I lost interested in “America’s Team” (“Jerry’s Fools”), and the only reason I keep my ear to the Cowboy ground is to hear about Jerry’s antics with the revolving coaching door, Rob Ryan’s lip-reading school, and Romo drama.  The Cowboys haven’t had a consistent, winning season in…what?…two decades?  Three?  In the famous words of the Wolf Brand Chili commercial, “How long has it been since the Cowboys have won anything?  Well (ha)…that’s too long.”

I think today, fans had enough.  Me, too.  After Romo’s awful performance, his bootleg run into the end zone where he celebrated like he’d won the Super Bowl, and yet another number added to the L column, the boos had it.  Jerry said in a post-game interview that he was used to the boos, that he attended boo school.  And every year, it’s the same boo story except that it gets louder every year.

But why should Jerry care?  He built that mega-stadium that can seat 90,000 fans, and the stupid fans fill it up, therefore, filling up Jerry’s pockets.  Concessions, souvenir, and gift sales are out the wazoo, and Jerry gets hefty sums from year-round stadium rental.  He even sells places to stand!  Why should Jerry care if his franchise wins anything?  That’s just it…he doesn’t!  Jerry Jones doesn’t care if the Cowboys ever win another game!

Apparently, he hasn’t been hit where it hurts the worst – in the pocketbook.  As long as his pocketbook remains unaffected, Jerry’s cool with all the Cowboys’ losses.

Because it’s all about narcissistic Jerry.  And he doesn’t care…

So…why should I care?  Good-bye, Cowboys.  Maybe the Falcons will appreciate my long-distance fanage.

4 Comments

  1. Jill / Oct 30 2012 8:18 PM

    I lived in Dallas through some of the Tom Landry years. My firstborn was born there – I call him my Lone Star Baby. I remember the Cowboys were always so….TALL! They had such a great look, everyone of them fit and fantastic. It was so much fun to be a fan and they were so great to watch. I live in Falcon country now, as I have for the past 30 years…but it’s never been as much fun as it was in the Landry / Staubach years.

    • dcwisdom / Oct 30 2012 9:11 PM

      Those were golden years! Remember Too Tall Jones? Monster! Well, like the Cowboys or not, there was something magical about them. They can put on a show.

  2. Diana Ferguson / Oct 29 2012 5:39 AM

    Amen! I’m only an hour away from his new stadium and have never gone — by choice. I don’t care for the man either.

    • dcwisdom / Oct 30 2012 9:22 PM

      We attended the second (preseason) game of the first season and sat in the end zone nose-bleed section. Fascinating! I felt like I was in an airplane looking down on the game. The stadium is unreal. Probably won’t go again. We had to park over a mile away and walk to the stadium. Think I’ll stay home and NOT watch ’em.

Comments are closed.