Skip to content
October 11, 2012 / dcwisdom

Senior Uses Cardboard and Duck Tape

This old college student made do with cardboard and duck tape.  Ah, what old people can’t do!   I am learning as I grow older that no one should ever discount the power and wisdom of the old folks.  We are smart!  We are creative!  Do we spend funds for  necessary frivolities?  Naahhhh…we get out the cardboard, Duck tape, WD-40, rubber bands, and we might chew a wad of bubblegum on occasion and hope it doesn’t stick to our dental fillings.   Well, ok…sometime I do frivol!

I discovered that old students (well…I) need extra support with large, over-sized text books (if only large print texts were available for senior-seniors!), so instead of traveling 30 minutes to the nearest possible location(s) and wasting gas just to buy a $15 book stand, I just made one.  Fancy, ain’t she?  She’ll do until I find another.

Until I find a stand, this book is propped permanently on the dining table to remind me to sit and read.  I try to spend extra time in this book since I bombed Exam 1.  Yep.  I bombed it.  I emailed my professor and told him that I actually did better on the test than my grade reflected.  Do you think he bought it?  He probably sighed, rolled his eyes, and hit *delete*.

Test taking must be problematic for senior seniors for the fact that we’re simple people (I’m stereotyping here) and haven’t taken tests for grades in years.  We (I) find out just how much brain power we (I) have lost through the years!  Solving complex, abstract, and ambiguous questions are enough to make me slam my book shut, turn on the television, sit in my recliner, and doze.  For heaven’s sake, just ask me a simple question!  For example, this is a question from today’s lesson:  How does each task characteristic affect how the leader’s behavior influences motivation?  Huuhhh?  If you can figure out the question and/or the answer, please let me know.  Or give me a real scenario, and I will answer the question!

Some days I ask me why I subject this mind, soul, and body to this self-imposed challenge of continuing my college education – at my silly old age.  There are easier and cooler things to do, but I see the end in sight, and I’m not giving up.  It will be worth it.  I keep telling myself that.

Press on, seniors!

Peace and love.  Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.  God bless Israel.   God help America.

 

4 Comments

  1. Vickie / Oct 12 2012 7:52 PM

    That question just flew over my head at warp speed!!! Good grief – I can see why you bombed the test – actually, I don’t know how you bombed the test, but IIIIIIII would definitely bombed it. Duct tape, cardboard and Vicks. Oh and maybe a little WD-40. That’s all you ever need. Love your ingenuity, friend! Sure miss you girl!

    • dcwisdom / Oct 12 2012 10:12 PM

      Our annual visit is long overdue, girlfriend! Would love to meet for lunch somewhere. Let’s talk about it.

  2. debsladybugtexas / Oct 12 2012 2:57 AM

    You go girl! Duct tape and card board can solve almost any problem

  3. jmgoyder / Oct 11 2012 8:10 PM

    That question from your lesson is absolutely ridiculous! When I was teaching at the uni. some students would come to me (because I taught the writing unit) and ask me to decipher questions they’d been given in other units and sometimes I couldn’t figure them out either! Too bad about your exam – love the duct tape cardboard idea.

Comments are closed.