Skip to content
September 15, 2012 / dcwisdom

My Humblest Apologies

Apparently, I have sinned greatly in the eyes of many people, and I offer my sincerest and humblest apologies and ask your forgiveness.  In relating my earlier post, I realized that not everyone would like the story, but it’s what happened.  Yes, some have even unfriended me over my actions.  I’m sorry.  I’m fallible.

I’m the personality that finds a trip to the zoo way down on my list of fun things to do.  I would not choose to go on an African safari or swim with the dolphins for vacation.  I don’t stop on the Wal-Mart parking lot where people are selling animals just to cuddle puppies.  In fact, I told Rick not long ago that we will not be the old couple who totes the dog to Sonic Drive-In at happy hour.  That’s just me.

I don’t hate animals, but I’m not passionate about them, either.  I fall in the middle.  I grew up in a family of hunters and fishermen; my immediate family are hunters.  We always eat or give away the game.  We also live in the woods.  We don’t always shoot raccoons or possums or snakes or coyotes, but when animals are threatening or being nuisances, we do take care of them, one way or another.  That’s what people who live in the country do.

But, I’ll tell you what I do care passionately about.  I care about people.  I love people.  Animals serve their purposes; they are a beautiful part of creation, but human beings are spectacular!  My daddy always said, “People have more fun than anybody!”  I’d rather be with you than my dog.  I’d rather get to know you and hear about your life.  I’d rather see a person happy than irritable (my mom).  That’s just me.

I value life.  Ah, you might be saying that if I valued life I wouldn’t have shot a cock, so I’ll tell you my kill record:  one cock, two raccoons (if you believe my speech post), one rattlesnake, five Copperheads, dozens of roaches and ants, and a few fish.  I’m guilty.  I don’t put animal life above human life; I believe animals have value, but there’s one thing which they don’t possess:  a soul.  Animals were created by God, but man was gifted with the Breath of God and became a living, breathing soul.  I’m not a save-the-whale person; I’m a save-the-unborn-baby person.

I realize the majority of people don’t believe the same as I.  That’s fine.  I can certainly agree to disagree.  Can you?  In my opinion, people who elevate animals and the planet above the human soul have a lesser regard for human life.  (Just my opinion here.  You are free to believe differently and speak it out, too.)  To me, evolution has its mire:  one belief is that man evolved; therefore, man is no better than animals.  I don’t agree with that opinion.

Animals are fantastic creations.  They live by instinct, have emotions, and can learn behaviors, both wild and domesticated.  In some cases, animals even train their owners!  However, man studies animals and learns their behaviors; man’s intellect put animals in logical orders.  Animals didn’t put man in space, but man sacrificed the monkey for the sake of space study.

If evolution were true and if this is how it really was, man would still be evolving and we could all see the changes through the millenniums.  There would be written records of human evolution, but there are no records, only theories and pictures of the imagination.

Another question of mine is if evolution started with one man, how did woman get here, and how did evolution produce an exact opposite and perfect complement of man?  And when I think about the beautiful act of conception, it stands to reason that human beings couldn’t have just walked out of the pond.  There are no odds for that.  Another thought along this line is there wouldn’t be family structures, and not one person would be kin.  Our innate desires are to belong and be loved.

There had/has to be a Creator.  Man and woman are the perfect fit that brings other lives into the world, and it’s still happening that way.  In evolution, there would be no need whatsoever for sex, and women would not be birthing babies.  It’s the order of creation.

Yes, I’m sorry the cock didn’t make it into the pot.  That’s my only regret.  But I’ll get over it.  Will you?

Peace and love.  Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.  God bless Israel.  God help America.

23 Comments

  1. Vickie / Sep 17 2012 12:11 AM

    Just getting around to catching up – I can’t believe I missed this “rooster post”. I’m with you on this one. I wound up with two roosters in my batch of chickens. If the lady that I bought them from hadn’t been willing to take them back, my roosters would have bit the bullet too. Don’t want any roosters. I see people GIVING them away on craIgsl*st all the time. A quick end to a rooster puts all to rights again. Sorry you took so much flack for being your sweet lil ole self. I thought all this rooster stuff was hilarious, by the way. I found myself laughing out loud (altho not quite as loudly as the post about you hanging out of the bathroom window in your underwear…) :):):):):):)

    • dcwisdom / Sep 17 2012 12:28 AM

      You just HAD to remind me of that, didn’t you?! God bless animal lovers! I don’t mind disagreement. I just don’t like nastiness.

  2. mindy / Sep 16 2012 9:00 PM

    Thank God for people like you Debbie-not afraid to be yourself and state your own opinions. You are right-we conservatives must start voicing the truth-not some glossed over version that is “politically correct”. Stand up now, or regret it later. I love the way you write, and have the same core values you do, and really appreciate your commentary-and your honesty.

    • dcwisdom / Sep 16 2012 10:53 PM

      Thanks, Mindy. I realize that taking a stand earns me either support or opposition. I appreciate both, however, and enjoy keeping conversation going. Thanks for replying.

  3. Jeanette / Sep 16 2012 3:22 PM

    (I’m reposting my reply to be sure all will read. Just for the record I am a very conservative, born-again Christian who opposes abortion of any sort. I am not a liberal in any sense of the word and yes Cheryl, I DID grow up in the country and on a farm. Our pigs and chickens were a source of food and we took in rescue horses.)

    Why can’t humans value both? I, too, come from a family of hunters and gun owners but also passionate animal lovers. Why do you assume we ‘the ones’ devalue human life just because we feel compassion towards a rooster? God did give us domain over the animal world but he also asked that we be good stewards towards them. My Mama taught my siblings and me to empathize with any living being and to treat as we want to be treated.
    I DID grow up in the countryside and have helped take care of chickens, pigs and horses and understand that they can be and are a food source. i was taught by my parents to cause no unneccesary sufferening whether it be physical or emotional. My Pawpaw, Granny and their son, my Daddy, lived in the mountains of Tennessee and shot squirrels and other small animals to provide meat for the eatin table. I would rather care about the feelings of a mean ole rooster than be so callous and hard hearted as some folks. After all,
    is that what God called us to do? Just sayin…

    • dcwisdom / Sep 16 2012 11:00 PM

      Jeanette, I am loving this discussion, and I want you to know that I appreciate your point of view and passion for animals. I enjoy the balance you provide. Yes, you are right that God called us to care for the animals, and maybe I should practice more compassion towards them. I’ll definitely take your reply to heart.
      Also, I would like to remain friends if you’ll have this ole’ Hard-hearted Hannah. ?

  4. Layne Perkins / Sep 16 2012 1:53 PM

    Animals are not human. They do not have souls. Humans are in much more danger and treated much more “inhumane” in the present state of our world. DON’T APOLOGIZE. It only feeds the ones who devalue God-given life and liberty!

    • Jeanette / Sep 16 2012 3:12 PM

      Why can’t humans value both? I, too, come from a family of hunters and gun owners but also passionate animal lovers. Why do you assume we ‘the ones’ devalue human life just because we feel compassion towards a rooster? God did give us domain over the animal world but he also asked that we be good stewards towards them. My Mama taught my siblings and me to empathize with any living being and to treat as we want to be treated.
      I DID grow up in the countryside and have helped take care of chickens, pigs and horses and understand that they can be and are a food source. i was taught by my parents to cause no unneccesary sufferening whether it be physical or emotional. My Pawpaw, Granny and their son, my Daddy, lived in the mountains of Tennessee and shot squirrels and other small animals to provide meat for the eatin table. I would rather care about the feelings of a mean ole rooster than be so callous and hard hearted as some folks. After all,
      is that what God called us to do? Just sayin…

    • dcwisdom / Sep 16 2012 10:43 PM

      Love you, Layne. Let’s have lunch.

  5. dcwisdom / Sep 15 2012 11:35 AM

    This comment came from my email:
    No one is more compassionate toward animals than I, and I had no problem with your cure for getting rid of a ‘problem’ pest. I don’t like cats. Your post was beautiful. Right on the mark. It was a lesson for anyone and a testimony to the Lord for Life. One lady says she wasn’t sure she agreed with everything you said? I’d have asked which part, but that’s because I can be a ….well….let’s just say I don’t take criticism well. Didn’t you see some of the comments I got back on my [post removed] diatribe? But that’s her problem. You need to get a thicker skin. You are sensitive to criticism, but then that also contributes to the sensitive person you are. You’re right, no one wants roosters. [named removed] raised poultry in NC (when she was married to the sadist) and they were always having problems with too many roosters. Few people know what they do to the hens. Talk about abuse! Anyway, I tried to come to your defense and once again did a song and dance with wordpress about ‘who’s on first’ and I finally gave up. You did mention they were damaging property and you couldn’t catch them. DUH?
    Do these sensitive people find themselves praying outside of abortion clinics? I just wonder. It would be good for them to put that kind of compassion and criticism toward saving lives of the unborn. You hit the nail on the head.

    Now. Walk on sister and let the critics find a new target today.

  6. Cheryl L / Sep 15 2012 7:43 AM

    Goodness, what a ruckus, huh?!! All over a rooster. I’ll be willing to bet most of those who were “offended” didn’t grow up on a farm. Personally, I think they need to take a look at what’s going on in the Middle East and find something else over which to get their knickers in a wad. I had a facebook friend recently send me a link to some organization requesting money to help them save the whales from something or another. I thought it very telling that this same “friend” was arguing for a woman’s right to kill her unborn baby. I agree wholeheartedly with your post. Keep up the good work!!

    • dcwisdom / Sep 15 2012 11:06 AM

      Exactly! I heard commentary this week about those who want to have choice only on the moral issue of abortion. Amoral issues are ones they want to regulate, like food choices at restaurants, or only wearing orange on Wednesdays, etc. Go figure…
      It’s becoming more important to keep moral debates alive, else we’ll fail by default. Thanks, Cheryl.

    • Jeanette / Sep 16 2012 3:16 PM

      (I’m reposting my reply to be sure all will read. Just for the record I am a very conservative, born-again Christian who opposes abortion of any sort. I am not a liberal in any sense of the word and yes Cheryl, I DID grow up in the country and on a farm. Our pigs and chickens were a source of food and we took in rescue horses.)

      Why can’t humans value both? I, too, come from a family of hunters and gun owners but also passionate animal lovers. Why do you assume we ‘the ones’ devalue human life just because we feel compassion towards a rooster? God did give us domain over the animal world but he also asked that we be good stewards towards them. My Mama taught my siblings and me to empathize with any living being and to treat as we want to be treated.
      I DID grow up in the countryside and have helped take care of chickens, pigs and horses and understand that they can be and are a food source. i was taught by my parents to cause no unneccesary sufferening whether it be physical or emotional. My Pawpaw, Granny and their son, my Daddy, lived in the mountains of Tennessee and shot squirrels and other small animals to provide meat for the eatin table. I would rather care about the feelings of a mean ole rooster than be so callous and hard hearted as some folks. After all,
      is that what God called us to do? Just sayin…

      • dcwisdom / Sep 17 2012 2:26 AM

        Jeanette, I guess one good thing about target-practicing on roosters is that they have such small brains and super short memories. Within two minutes of chasing him away with my bullets, he was right back on the porch and pecking away in the flower beds. I can’t quite go with your suggestion that roosters or squirrels have the same emotional intellect and feelings that we humans have. They are not our equals, and to suggest they have equal feelings to us is just plain ludicrous. I CAN agree with physical suffering, but I didn’t harm the rooster until the shotgun incident. A few years ago, we had a beautiful German Shepherd that suffered terribly with arthritis. How would you handle that at the end? Would you let him suffer and die naturally, knowing his suffering, or would you put him down before he could no longer move, eat, or drink? Just asking for the sake of discussion.

  7. debsladybugtexas / Sep 15 2012 4:56 AM

    Great post Deb I love it when you are fired up

    • dcwisdom / Sep 15 2012 11:14 AM

      It’s time to get fired up. We’re quickly approaching the time that we may not have the opportunity to keep our conservative voices out there. If there’s a time to sway and influence people on the fence, it’s now. Jesus said we have to count the cost to follow him, and I’m really thinking about that now. Thanks, Deb.

  8. jmgoyder / Sep 15 2012 2:50 AM

    Wow – I didn’t realize you would get criticized for this. I hope you know I wasn’t. Not sure if I agree with absolutely everything you say here but I still luvya!
    I haven’t yet copped much criticisms for my posts but I know it is inevitable and I live in dread.

    • dcwisdom / Sep 15 2012 2:57 AM

      LOL. I’ve been blogging since…gosh…four? years? Three? I forget. Anyway, I rarely write such controversial posts, but I have had more than several opposing replies. Hey, there’s lots I don’t agree with either, but that’s the nature of the beast. My first negative reply was harsh and personal. I still don’t know who wrote it, the chicken. But I had to step back and realize that if I put my true self out there, the possibility for backlash is there. I wish people could be more objective about editorials and have a discussion instead of a throwdown. Thanks very much for being a friend. BIG love from Texas coming your way… XO

      • jmgoyder / Sep 15 2012 3:00 AM

        I think that people who have never lived in the country just don’t get it – death is part of life in the poultry world! Hope you are ok after the backlash.

      • dcwisdom / Sep 15 2012 3:06 AM

        I think in my head – thank you for your opinion. I don’t expect everyone to like everything I post. It will be interesting to see what other replies I get. I receive more email replies than blog posts. I guess people that don’t blog had rather email. I’m fine. Thanks. 🙂

      • jmgoyder / Sep 15 2012 3:10 AM

        You mean people emailed you about the rooster post? Sorry – am just curious!

      • dcwisdom / Sep 15 2012 3:21 AM

        Emails from my personal, longtime friends. I don’t always hear from each friend about my blog posts, but they let me know when I cross a line! Also, they know me and what a goose I am! 🙂

      • jmgoyder / Sep 15 2012 3:27 AM

        Oh! I get that kind of email from my mother – ha!

Comments are closed.