Skip to content
August 28, 2012 / dcwisdom

Moving the Cocks

Tonight, I had my first experience moving cocks.  Oh my!

Growing up, I never lived in the country or had chickens.  It wasn’t until this past spring that Kid #1 Brin bought her first chicks and raised them in the city in a chain-link fenced yard.  Through the last 24 years that I have lived in the country, Rick refused to help me out and build a coop, and yet I didn’t press him on the issue.  Too many other issues pulled my attention.

Really, I have never been a big animal person.  Maybe it was because I had five kids!  Animal mouths to feed or vet bills in the mail didn’t appeal to me.   One of the kids had gold-fish one time, and I thought that was too committal.  So for me to entertain the idea of having chickens was far-fetched to my husband.

When Brin’s cocks were old enough to crow, she bribed her neighbors with eggs.  If I were a fly on the wall in the neighbors’ homes, these folks are likely covering their heads with pillows, inserting ear plugs, or cursing the crazy chicken neighbor at 5 a.m. when the cocks herald daybreak.  They crow all day long until sunset.  If I were her neighbor, I might require a sacrifice chicken for the dinner table.

Well, tonight Brin and I bagged two cocks to move them to my neck of the woods and out of the city.  Listen, I don’t freak out easily, but I was nervous.

About 8 p.m. after sundown, she grabbed the biggest rooster.  I held the pillow case away from me like I was carrying a pot of boiling water.  In went the rooster.  As we tied the case, I noticed a slight tear in the case and the rooster’s foot stuck out.  We layed the him in the back of Joan Rivers (my old Suburban) and closed the door.  We bagged the second, smaller rooster which was no trouble.  When I opened the rear door to deposit the second rooster, the pillow case which held the bigger rooster was flat.  That cock boxed his way out of the case and perched himself on the top of the middle seat.  With me watching him, he then proved what a tough cock he was and pooped on the carpet.  Brin absolutely rolled with the biggest laugh I’ve heard from her in a long time.

After my experience with Colonel Cock (a few posts back), I watch my back around roosters.  With the big rooster perched on the seat top and the other in its case, I headed out.  Have you ever tried to keep one eye on the road and one eye on the back seat while driving?   I had this squeamish feeling of him flying right toward my head and pecking my shoulder.  At any point, I was ready to throw on the brakes and ring that rooster’s neck.  A couple of times, he reared up, and I yelled, “SIT DOWN!”  As we headed out of town, he settled into his roost position.  I could tell he was ready to sleep there the entire night.

That silly didn’t want to leave his roost when I pulled up to his new home.  I deposited the smaller rooster into the coop.  You know how long and wide a Suburban is, don’t you?  That rooster found all kinds of hidey-holes while I poked him with my umbrella.  I couldn’t crawl over seats fast enough to catch him.  When I finally poked him out of the vehicle, there were feathers everywhere.  There’s probably poop everywhere, too, which I’ll discover tomorrow.

The cock and I were both freaked out.  He ran around panting and squawking, and my heart raced.  He ran to the edge of the woods and perched on a low tree limb.  I sat down trying to think of how I would catch and pen him.  Thankfully, along came Kid #3 Jeremiah.  After ten minutes or so of coaxing the cock out of the woods, Jeremiah cornered the cock, grabbed him, and penned him.  The entire ordeal took an hour.  I wish you could have seen it.

Whew…I didn’t know taking care of chickens was so much work.  Maybe deep down I knew this.   Maybe that’s why I don’t press this issue with Rick.  Maybe I’m not the real country girl I thought I was.

Peace and love.  Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.  God bless Israel.  God help America.

 

7 Comments

  1. Vickie / Aug 29 2012 10:55 PM

    Oh goodness, Deb. I’d have paid good money and alot of it to see this! LOLOL! Now be sure you DO video the butchering – I mean it. That oughta be a hoot!

    • dcwisdom / Aug 30 2012 12:48 PM

      Girl, something got to them last night. They’re all gone! Feather’s everywhere. Probably coyotes, we think. Waaaaa….

  2. debsladybugtexas / Aug 29 2012 9:32 PM

    oh that was a great story…something to laugh about in the future…not fun in the midst of it all though….good luck with those Cock a doodle doos…

  3. debby9972 / Aug 29 2012 8:27 PM

    Your a brave soul, I love roosters but I could never handle one in person!

    • dcwisdom / Aug 30 2012 12:45 PM

      Oh wow…you’re the second person that’s called me brave. I thought that was just what chicken people do. It’s either me or it!

  4. jmgoyder / Aug 29 2012 2:14 AM

    Wow – you are brave!!!

    • dcwisdom / Aug 29 2012 6:21 PM

      Brave??? I thought that’s what every chicken lady does! I’m getting my nerve up to butcher them soon. I’m sure that will be another story to tell.

Comments are closed.