Skip to content
August 18, 2012 / dcwisdom

Meet Colonel Cock

I come by pets in a very non-purposeful, backdoor way.  I am not an animal person to search out a beloved pet in the local shelter or pet store.  Nor do I stop along the roadside to hold and fawn over the cute puppies.  You know the crazy “bundling” commercial where the neighbors offer the newcomers a puppy?  That’s not me.  I’d tell the big-eyed woman to take the puppy home herself.

I’m sorry.  Guess I’m weird that way.

This rooster’s name is Colonel Cock.  Colonel came to me via Brin, my “giving” daughter who did not want this loud mouth in her backyard barnyard.  One day, I found that she dumped three, mind you, three, cocks to my care.  Did I ask for them?  No!  Did she care that I didn’t ask for them?  No!  Have I ever taken care of fowl?  No!

Not to worry, she said, I’ll be along every day to feed and water them until I can get someone to take them.  She said.  So, you know what happened…

Every day, I check on them, feed and water them, let them out to roam and scratch…

…and now I’ve made friends with them.  I kind of like them.  But what good is a rooster with no hen?  Not much good, I fear.

Colonel finally told me, in no uncertain terms, that he would no longer live in the pen.  I always wonder if he’ll be around the pen in the mornings, and there he is.  He’s the funny one.  Every morning when I check on the roosters, he runs to greet me.  He stops about a yard from me, looks at me sideways, and clucks.  Now, my brave Colonel Cock walks up to me, circles my legs, and clucks.  And we carry on some great conversations like Hey, old boySeen any stray dogs lately?  Any coyotes?  Foxes? 

Yesterday, he bumped me from behind.  Just a mild body bump on my legs.  I was surprised.  I turned around to him and asked him what in the world he was doing.  He just looked at me and clucked.

Today, he ran up to me and stopped.  He followed me to the pen to change the water.  As I was leaving, he ran up behind me and charged me with his wings spread out.  I turned and talked to him sternly.  He charged me again, and I gave him a hard kick to the chest.  I think it startled him.  He clucked.  I yelled at him to stop that and walked off.

Stupid Colonel Cock.  He’ll find himself in a hot pot with dumplings if he keeps that up.

Peace and love.  Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.  God bless Israel.  God help America.

6 Comments

  1. jmgoyder / Aug 18 2012 9:39 PM

    So funny – this is exactly what our rooster Tina T does to me!

    • dcwisdom / Aug 18 2012 9:51 PM

      Do you turn your back on him? It seemed when I retreated from him, he came at me. I know nothing about fowl. This is all new to me.

      • jmgoyder / Aug 18 2012 9:53 PM

        He is the only one of our roosters who does this and yes every time I turn my back.

      • dcwisdom / Aug 19 2012 10:06 PM

        And I really thought we were becoming good friends… Do you have daily or occasional encounters? I may have to carry a stick with me.

      • jmgoyder / Aug 19 2012 10:16 PM

        Daily! I just wear boots and kick him off me – ha!

      • dcwisdom / Aug 19 2012 10:18 PM

        LOL Ok, thanks! 🙂 Makes me feel better.

Comments are closed.