Skip to content
August 8, 2012 / dcwisdom

Mom! It’s Music Appreciation!

One of the best advantages of being a 56-year-old, bucket list, college student is the curiosity factor, something I didn’t possess as a young thing.  Although both my parents were public educators, they never pushed any of us toward the grade target; we five kids were simply there while Mom and Dad pushed themselves toward their own goals and dreams.  Anything any of us accomplished in school was almost accidental, except for Kid #2, my sister, that somehow was blessed with academic excellence and the only one of five whose name ever graced the Honor Roll list her entire high school career.

That’s why I was absolutely floored when I received a letter in July from the president of the university I attend congratulating me for making the President’s List for the spring semester!  Moving from my very average college student grades, and not even laddering up Dean’s List, directly to the university’s President’s List was MONUMENTAL!   I’m saying here that in my average world, it was a MONUMENTAL EXPERIENCE!  To nobody but myself, I realize.

This summer, I knocked out more hours.  Weirdly enough, I failed to pick up a handful of freshman level courses:  Speech and Music Appreciation being two.  Speech was easy enough since I spent four years in Toastmasters International a few years back, one of the BEST non-collegiate courses in which I participated.  (I constantly push this communication/leadership organization for anyone in the communication/business/education worlds.)  The State of Texas has an excellent program among junior and community colleges (The Virtual Colleges of Texas – VCT) built to offer lower level courses online; I used this program for both classes.

Yes, speech and music online classes.  Who’dever thunk it?

Returning to the idea of curiosity, my kids think I’m weird for spending so much time on Music Appreciation.  Kids #1, 4 and 5 saw me hunched over my computer with my earphones on and spacing out over a music example.  They laughed.

Them:  Mom, what are you listening to?

Me:  What?  Oh, John Cage.  It’s a John Cage composition.

Them:  You’ve been over there for two hours.

Me:  I’m working on my class.

Them:  Mom!  It’s Music Appreciation!  Nobody works on Music Appreciation.  It’s a freshman class, and nobody cares about it.

Me:  Are you kidding?  This is awesome stuff!

Do I hear an Amen out there?  Music lovers?  Music appreciators?  Just sayin’ that I loved exploring the subject, hitting the historical highlights and listening to some awesome stuff.   I found out the technical names of things I really like in music and from which genres and music periods they originated.  I’ve always loved the sound of Gregorian chants.  Once, I found a hotel’s indoor pool with perfect acoustics.  No one was there but me, and I sang my own chant song with sound waves bouncing off from every surface.  It was cool.

Yes, I’m weird.  I know.  I take my course final this afternoon.  Another course down.  Onward and upward!

Peace and love.  Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.  God bless Israel.  God help America.

11 Comments

  1. Anonymous / Aug 11 2012 6:17 AM

    Awesome, girl!!!

  2. tanna / Aug 9 2012 5:06 AM

    Congratulations on making the President’s List, Debbie!! Awesome! I’m betting you aced that exam!!! keep on keeping on! blessings and hugs and celebratory cheers!! tanna

  3. debsladybugtexas / Aug 8 2012 3:23 PM

    I think you are awesome..I’m very proud of you

    • dcwisdom / Aug 8 2012 4:03 PM

      Oh, now, I’m trying not the get the big head about this; after all, it’s just Music Appreciation. lol Thanks, Deb. I appreciate your encouragement, friend.

  4. jmgoyder / Aug 8 2012 9:14 AM

    Oh I forgot to say good luck for this afternoon!

    • dcwisdom / Aug 8 2012 9:16 AM

      And thank you very much. You are well-acquainted with finals, I know.

      • jmgoyder / Aug 8 2012 9:17 AM

        What time is it there and when are you off for the test?

      • dcwisdom / Aug 8 2012 9:42 AM

        At present, it’s 9:40 a.m. I can take the test any time today. I’ll most likely study my notes quickly and dive in this morning.

  5. jmgoyder / Aug 8 2012 9:13 AM

    I don’t even know what the president’s list is (we don’t have that here) but it sounds pretty good so huge congratulations to you! About the music – mmm – I admire your determination and vigor – I am learning this via my son and so far I have not been able to pass any of ‘his classes’ ha! Onya!

    • dcwisdom / Aug 8 2012 9:53 AM

      I do well with the theory after having music classes in my early years. It’s the history of music that I need to study, and I’ve enjoyed that part of it. I tried to teach my husband music years ago. He’s a self-taught drummer and can’t read a lick of music. He loves music but didn’t take the time to learn it. Just like any other subject, it takes time.
      People who make PL carry 9 semester hours or more and make A’s. It’s much easier now. I don’t know if it’s our current educational standards (US ranks 47th – TERRIBLE!) or if I’m just older and wiser and study better and want to do well. All, I guess. If I had to study in China, I might go back to being that C student, but I’ll never know.
      Onya!

      • jmgoyder / Aug 8 2012 9:58 AM

        Well it sounds to me like you are an amazing student – you must be so proud of yourself because this couldn’t be easy!

Comments are closed.