Skip to content
July 27, 2012 / dcwisdom

Making a Case (or Two)

For two weeks, I needed a blogging and a, generally, lazy break even though I haven’t been lazy.  Unfortunately.  However, I studied my summer classes to keep on task with my college graduation plans, so a total break was impossible.  I can’t wait for that! 

My, my…the national politics and events of this month…shocking.  However, I want to relate a personal event which happened last night and the case for gun possession and the Second Amendment, and I want to make a personal, positive argument for the case of George Zimmerman.  As a disclaimer, I am absolutely no authority or expert on the events that happened to Zimmerman; I’m just a common mouth with an opinion, especially in the light of last night’s situation.

I visited my sister yesterday to celebrate her birthday.  She, my mom, and I shopped the afternoon away, looking for wedding rehearsal dinner decorations.  We returned to her house in the early evening, fed, bathed, and bedded her young boys and sat at her dining table with a fresh pizza and drinks.  Her dining table sits in front of a picture window without privacy since she lives down a little-traveled, lonely, country road where few people pass.

I did not intend to stay late, so about thirty minutes before I planned to leave before 9:00, I loaded my shopping bags and handbag into Joan Rivers (my old Suburban).  I returned into the house to visit at the table for a while longer.  While we sat there, a truck passed the driveway on the road, stopped, reversed, and turned into the drive.  As the truck pulled close to the house and parked, we had a quick conversation with the typical questions – Who’s that?  Do you know?  One of the boys?  Are you expecting someone?

Two doors closed on the vehicle.  Two male voices exchanged words, and then we heard, “Hey!  Hey in there!  Heeeyyy!”  And then the knock.  My first premonition and thought was This is not right.   

Now, if you read back into my blog, you’ll find the post about the day I passed the test for my Concealed Handgun License.  The day I passed and the day my license came in the mail were perhaps the proudest days of my husband’s life.  Really.  I can think of very few things I’ve done in our married life that trumps that accomplishment, besides birthing children.  Not that it was any huge thing that a woman passed her handgun test, but it turned my husband on that I did.  The fact that I learned to use a handgun and that I can outshoot most men is, to Rick, probably one of the sexiest things I’ve ever done.  And, to say, at my age, that I still have some sexiness going on is sort of triumphant.

So, what is the point of having a CHL and not carrying a handgun?  None.  Yes, I pack the heat, and last night, well after dark in the deep countryside, with two men at my sister’s front door, my heat was in Joan Rivers.  As I stood from the table, I said, “I’m going to get my gun.”

I so carefully scampered to my vehicle.  While the men tried to talk their way into the house, one saying he was selling educational materials and could he please come in just for a few moments, crying in such a sweet, pleading voice, I found the heat and stood on the drive beside Joan Rivers.  While my sister talked through the door and told the men to leave, one of the men rounded the corner of the house, so I stepped toward him holding my gun at my side (OHMYGOSHWHATWASIDOING?) and demanded, “What do you want?”  He repeated what he said at the door.  I yelled, “It’s too late to sell anything here.  You’re on private property.  Leave now!”  He timidly repeated himself.  I more forcefully repeated myself.  He didn’t fuss with me.  He got in his truck and backed out, alone and without his partner.

Where was the partner?  I ran into the house, and sister called the sheriff while I kept watch.  Within five minutes, two deputies arrived.  Turns out, the office had received several calls regarding the same situation.  They searched for the second man but couldn’t find him, and while they searched, the officer had another call with the same report, and the two officers rushed away.

If I hadn’t stayed, my sister would have been defenseless had the men returned.  Not that I could have been a hero.  Anything could have happened.  All I know is that at the moment, I would have shot a man had my life, my sister, mother, or my nephews’ lives been in direct danger.  Without hesitation.  And I wouldn’t have been sorry for protecting my own.

I think what bothers me so much about the George Zimmerman story is that people were so quick to judge his situation and his television interview.  Of course, it is a tragedy when anyone is shot.  The person was someone’s brother, son, friend, etc.  But, how can anyone judge the action of someone who’s only trying to protect his family or neighborhood or himself?  Could either manFORESEE what happened between them?  Did Martin or Zimmerman anticipate a fight with a fatal result?  Most likely not.  In my case, my only thought was protection and being threatening enough for the men to leave.   Ha.  Thank God, it worked.  Thank God.

As I’m writing this, I’m letting out my breath.  I didn’t realize I’ve held it for the last 24 hours.  Although tragedy alluded an unknown man and me, I think this is one of those moments in life that has and will change me.

Mom and I stayed overnight with my sister.  I slept with one eye and one ear open.  I tried my best to talk my sister into getting a gun.  One argument of hers was I’m scared of guns.  To that, I say this:  Learning to use a gun is like learning to drive a car.  The more you use and handle one, the more confident you become, the more accustomed you are to it, the less fear of it you have.  Yes, you become more aware of where people are in relationship to you, where children are, places you go, where you can and can’t carry, and where you lay your handbag.  Being aware is a good thing.

Another argument of hers was I don’t like big guns.  Well, then, get a small one.

I say to all grown women:  You’re not 13 any more.  Be brave.  Overcome your fears of owning and handling a gun.  With knowledge and skill comes confidence.

I am glad to be here to write this account.  None of us ever fully knows how close we come, at times, to tragedy.  Thank God for sparing us all, including the men.

See you on the other side of the weekend, God willing.

15 Comments

  1. Anonymous / Aug 3 2012 6:36 AM

    I am so impressed. What a blessing you were there! My husband has his license but I’ve never really given any thought to doing it (until now!).

    • dcwisdom / Aug 3 2012 11:14 AM

      Thank you, but I’m not trying to impress. I hope I’m impressing more women of the need to be safely armed. I am not a militant, but in the big picture, it might be a point of salvation for our country.

  2. vickie / Jul 30 2012 2:00 PM

    Yea for you, Deputy Deb. SO glad you were there. We have handguns but I still haven’t made time to get my license. Shame on me. Gotta gotta do that! I wish somebody in that Colorado theater had had a handgun, too. Happens every day.

    • dcwisdom / Jul 30 2012 6:23 PM

      Chickie,
      The CHL permits you to carry a concealed weapon on your person. As per Texas law, you can have one in the house and in your car (considered an extension of your home). Check out the entire state gun law – civilliberty.about.com/od/guncontrol/a/Texas-Gun-Laws.htm
      Well, now I’m called a deputy. I’ll add it to my mental list: Dead-eye, Downer, Do, and others I won’t repeat. 🙂
      XO

  3. Jill / Jul 29 2012 10:01 PM

    Wow, what a scary situation – you are my hero. I’m also scared of guns while at the same time wishing I had one and was super competent with it. Thank God you were there when those guys showed up.

    My take on the Zimmerman situation is different, though – the guys that showed up at the house were up to no good and made an attempt to gain entry to your sister’s house. Trayvon Martin, however, was just walking home down the sidewalk and did nothing threatening, until Zimmerman pursued and confronted him. If Zimmerman had done what the police had instructed him to do – get back in his car – no one would have died. Zimmerman was the initial aggressor, and wasn’t protecting anyone. Just a different scenario – he was being a hotshot, and you were protecting your family! BIG difference in my mind. You are a hero. He is not.

    • dcwisdom / Jul 30 2012 6:16 PM

      Jill, just like you learned to handle a vehicle, the principle is the same: practice and safety.
      As for Zimmerman, all we know is what the media reports, and I don’t trust the media just because I have seen media in action. There’s always another side to the story, but we get the side (biased or twisted information, certainly not the truth very often) they want us to get. I give Zimmerman the big benefit of the doubt. I’d like to know the whys of his answers.
      Thanks for your view. I do consider others’ opinions and have been known to change my mind. 🙂

      • Jill / Aug 3 2012 7:01 AM

        We know from the 911 recordings that he was told to get back in his car and stop following the guy and that the boy wasn’t doing anything other than walking down the sidewalk – Zimmerman’s own words. There was no threat posed by Martin. That’s what I’m talking about. That would have been the end of it, except for Zimmerman’s decision to not comply with instructions. What happened after that was completely avoidable – it wasn’t the outcome he expected because the other guy turned out to be even tougher. I can tune out the media but can’t deny the fact of the recording. No doubt in my mind it could have been avoided.

        Debbie on the other hand is a true hero! My BFF is a 20+ year detective in Texas – she is willing to train me but I haven’t decided yet if I’ll pursue it.

    • dcwisdom / Aug 3 2012 11:02 AM

      Jill,
      Point taken.
      And I say, “GO FOR IT, GIRL!” You won’t be sorry you did it.
      Thanks for the discussion.

  4. marylou55 / Jul 29 2012 5:03 AM

    I’m with you 100%. Although I don’t own a gun, I grew up in a household of hunters. People should be allowed to have guns. You rock! God kept you all in the palm of His hand.

  5. Cheryl L / Jul 27 2012 4:40 PM

    Good for you!!!! I’m so glad you and your gun were there when it really mattered. THAT was a divine appointment for sure!! I hope they caught those creeps before they hurt someone. Too bad there wasn’t a movie-goer packing heat in Aurora, CO. Chances are good the shooter could have been brought down before killing and injuring so many. Clinging to our God and our guns……Yes, indeed!!!

    • dcwisdom / Jul 27 2012 7:59 PM

      Amen, Cheryl. I was ever so glad to have been there. Actually, it was the second time I was in a situation to feel threatened. The first was at a car wash. I was ready.

  6. tanna / Jul 27 2012 10:46 AM

    My M&P is locked and loaded, sister of the CHL. Glad you were with YOUR sister. blessings ~ tanna

    • dcwisdom / Jul 27 2012 12:06 PM

      Me, too. I’m afraid to think of the other scenario.

  7. jmgoyder / Jul 27 2012 1:57 AM

    What a terrifying ordeal and so glad you had the gun! We are not allowed to have them here but I have always wanted one so much for this very reason.

    • dcwisdom / Jul 27 2012 12:05 PM

      A woman’s gotta do what a woman’s gotta do…One of the best things I ever did.

Comments are closed.