Skip to content
July 10, 2012 / dcwisdom

Normalcy Again

Today, my world has returned to normalcy.

I remember, back in the days, hearing my parents’ sighs of great relief when the holiday week’s festivities passed and the visitors returned from whence they came.  “Back in the days” is now in my court; left in the wake of fun and frolic is the mountain of chores – laundry, beds, bathrooms, kitchen, floors, etc.  I don’t mind it.  What fun we had!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About 40 family members spent the day at Daingerfield State Park, eating, swimming, canoeing, and visiting with relatives.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My great-aunt, our family matron — isn’t she beautiful!   Our family legend is that one particular blood line is Cherokee.  Upon research findings, our newly elected family genealogist, Britton, discovered this last year that the legend is false.  Instead of Cherokee, that particular vein is Middle Eastern.  Wow!  That was a surprise!   My aunt certainly portrays that heritage.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I assume that all this moving happened around 1900 when my ancestral band of brothers moved their families from Georgia, by way of Arkansas, to Texas.  And, one hundred years later, the story is passed on.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And this is why we gather:  to relive the good memories of family, to appreciate our heritage, to welcome the new and the young, and to pass on the important.  Family is good.  An ongoing relation to those who share a common heritage lays a foundation of acceptance and bonds.   Or should.

So, to have lived for a week out of normal was good and strengthening.  Prayers and blessings to those who experienced loss and tragedy this past week.  God bless you.

Whatever normal is in your world, I hope it’s happy.  Today, my normal is laundry, cleaning floors, and defrosting the freezer.  (Who has a freezer that needs defrosting but me?  I should have bought a frostless years ago.  Maybe, if I’m a good girl, Santa Claus will bring one this year…  Well, I’m not hopeful on that one.)

I missed Day 6 (Boooooooo!  hissssssss!) on Couch-to-5K and promise to make it up.  I will keep you apprised.  I’m going to run that 5K, even if I have to run it at a snail’s pace.  Oh yes, and I finished my speech class and enrolled in Music Appreciation, trying to knock out those pesky core classes this summer.  Upward and onward!

Peace and love.  Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.  God bless Israel.  God help America.

 

10 Comments

  1. tanna / Jul 13 2012 11:02 AM

    Family is a lifeline to joy. Gorgeous group you have! Debbie, thank you from the bottom of my heart for your prayers and your words of encouragement. I can’t begin to be able to express my appreciation. Thank you again and again. blessings ~ tanna
    ps you are going to do fine in that 5k.

    • dcwisdom / Jul 13 2012 11:53 AM

      Romans 8:26-27 – Likewise the Spirit also helps our infirmities, for we don’t know what we should or ought to pray. But the Spirit Himself makes intercession for us with groanings which can’t be spoken. And He that searches the hearts knows what is in the mind of the Spirit, because He makes intercession for the saints according to the will of God.”
      Years ago, God taught me to wail. I wailed over a terrible relationship which God ultimately healed. I’d always heard about wailing but never heard a true wail. I haven’t wailed since then, but at times I’ve felt like it. I probably should have. I’ll have to tell you the story sometime. It was totally healing. I have felt the depths. Love and prayers to you today.

      • tanna / Jul 13 2012 2:11 PM

        That is one of my all time favorite scriptures, Debbie. And, believe me when I say there has been wailing over this issue… Not just in this moment. My son has been the source of many prayers through the years that “I knew not what to pray”, but wailed and cried out for His will and His help. We never cease to love them and worry for them… do we? Thank you so much for this scripture and your prayers. I do feel the Holy Spirit working and I am most grateful. Thank you, dear one. blessings ~ tanna

      • tanna / Jul 13 2012 2:12 PM

        ps I’d love to hear that story.

  2. debsladybugtexas / Jul 10 2012 9:44 PM

    that is a good looking family you have…you are a busy woman…

    • dcwisdom / Jul 11 2012 8:53 AM

      Deb, what woman isn’t busy?! The more kids I acquire, the more time is not my own. Thank you for the compliment. Enjoy this cooler weather we’re having. Ahhhhhh….

  3. virginiaplantation / Jul 10 2012 9:27 PM

    It’s great to have a such a loving family!

    • dcwisdom / Jul 11 2012 8:54 AM

      We love each other – warts and all.

  4. jmgoyder / Jul 10 2012 9:11 PM

    What a lovely family!

    • dcwisdom / Jul 11 2012 8:54 AM

      Thank you.

Comments are closed.