Skip to content
July 5, 2012 / dcwisdom

Independence Day 2012

A holiday in the middle of the week.  It seems like it should be a Saturday, doesn’t it?  Nevertheless, three of my four siblings and families came for the week for a total of 26 bright and happy faces.  And Mom-in-law comes later today.

Here’s one happy family – my brother and his bunch of sillies.  They are great people.

I felt 0ur day was rather “off” – slightly unsettled – edgy – I don’t really know how to explain it.  I did not feel joyful; I felt almost sorrowful.   We enjoyed the gathering, but it was just different.  Did anyone else have the same check in your spirit?

I can’t help but think that maybe the last week’s Supreme Court ruling edged us further toward the abyss of tyranny.  I mean, why can the government make us purchase products or services and “penalize” (or tax – collect said amount of money) us when we don’t, won’t, or can’t make the required purchase?  What happened to our freedom of choice?  The court can uphold the freedom of choice for a woman to have an abortion, but it won’t uphold our freedom of choice to not buy health insurance if we don’t want it or can’t afford it, for heaven’s sake.  Where is the balance in that?  Plus, I was under the strange impression that the Chief Justice of the United States Supreme Court could not re-write law and uphold it as constitutional.  Where is the justice in that?

Oh, shut up, Debbie.  Stop being so analytical.

Early this morning, I tried to get my brother (in the picture above) to walk/jog with me while the temp was cool, but he, my nephew, and brother-in-law hit the golf course about 7-ish before the Texas heat set in for the day.  Nothing like a round of golf to greet the day.  (I’ve only heard that said.   I’ve never played a round of golf in my life.)

I talked with brother-in-law Tim last night about the Couch-to-5K running program.  A long-time high school coach and trainer, I had him analyze the program and got his advice for new running shoes.  (He personally likes the new Sketchers.)  As for the program, he thought the end of week five and week six looked a little challenging, but he said that overall, it looked like a fairly progressive beginner’s schedule.  He also gave me advice about shin splints:  Go slowly and don’t over-do it.  I have been gentle on my knees and legs, so far, through Day 5.  Come to think of it, the softball fiasco did bring on the shin splints.  What was I ever thinking?

I finish my online speech class this week!  Hooray!  Another class down and headed toward the last few hours of my degree plan.  It’s about gosh-darn time!

Remember these little guys?  My little twin nephews?  Their mother will be 53 later this month!  Argggghhh!!!  Talk about starting over…

I will be blunt and honest here.  I would never wish these little guys away.  They are so adorable and funny.  But I will never understand the WHY? of women who choose to have children at the mid-century mark of life.  My sister already has three grown sons and two grandchildren, and I know the reason(s) why she chose to have these two sons, but WHY?

Maybe it’s the anomaly of life.  The different.  Out of the ordinary.  Want some attention.  Oh, look at me.  Haha, I can do it!  But this is something you can’t undo.  These little cherubs will be here until she’s 70 and beyond.  My sister will never know a life without children in her home.  For the life of me, I can’t figure this one out.  But then, I don’t have to.  It’s her life and her choice.  And they are precious!

Man, I have blabbed all around the world tonight.  Have a blessed new day.

Peace and love.  Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.  God bless Israel.  God help America.

 

4 Comments

  1. Vickie / Jul 5 2012 10:52 PM

    Deb, I am just trusting that God knows best – he raises up leaders and he takes them down. I’m just gonna keep on praying… Those little boys of your sister are precious. Little tow-headed sweeties. I want some grandbabies so bad! Glad you’re nearing the end of your degree! I’d sure love to see ya, my friend!

    • dcwisdom / Jul 6 2012 10:46 AM

      Yes, girlfriend, we need to meet somewhere for some good girl time and discuss what we can do to get some grandbabies! 🙂 Hire a stork, or something.

  2. debsladybugtexas / Jul 5 2012 11:16 AM

    I don’t understand the ruling either…maybe it was a way to get folks off their backsides to go vote this fall…get rid of these nit wits that are running our country…

    • dcwisdom / Jul 5 2012 6:49 PM

      I think – I hope – it woke up more people about the impending tyranny we face if O is elected for a 2nd term. In the meantime, our prayers will be the only thing that will make a difference.

Comments are closed.