Skip to content
July 2, 2012 / dcwisdom

Day 4: Couch-to-5K

This morning’s C25K walk/jog was totally uneventful, but I feel the zing, for lack of a better word for it, that runner’s say they experience after a run.  I think I actually jogged a quarter of the program, and – let me tell you – for anything more than a casual stroll, that’s incredible for me!  I’m energized in spite of only six hours sleep during the night.

A typical night owl, I kept late hours last night to get my final outline prepared for the last online speech due this week.  I love summer classes; they are full and concentrated, but they are finished so quickly.   This week, I finish speech class and sign up for music appreciation for Summer II.  Oh my gosh!  I can’t believe it’s Summer II already!

So, with exercise under my belt for the day, I will take up my DIY project for the week – paint the empty bedroom and furnish it for  an overdue visit from my mother-in-law on Thursday.  The room was Kid #5 Mary’s typical, garish decor:  hot pink.  One thing I learned to overlook was teenage paint colors.  There is a certain kind of pride that a girl (or some guys) feels when she claims her own space and expresses herself with paint and personal art.  I suppose that’s true for everyone, at least for those brave enough to use self-expression in paint and decor.  (Truly, I’d rather see wall art than body art.  Paint on the skin is harder to fix.)  I have a friend who’s very basic; she says, “Just give me a white wall and a couch, and I’m happy.”  So, I am going with white walls and a bed.  It’s vogue now.

I’m off!  Be blessed today.

Peace and love.  Pray for the peace of Jerusalem, especially with the Iran thing going on.  God bless Israel.  God help America.

2 Comments

  1. Vickie / Jul 3 2012 9:48 PM

    I’m proud of you doing this 5-K thing. Didn’ tknow you did track in school! Good for you sticking it out – is Brin still in the program? Me? If I were jogging, I sure wouldn’t have the strength to be painting. I imagine you’re going to be quick about bouncing back in running shape! You GO, girl!

    Second summer session already? Man, this summer’s flying by! And I still haven’t see you!

    • dcwisdom / Jul 3 2012 10:43 PM

      No doubt, Chickie, my body is wondering what the heck I’m doing to it. Monday was the pits. After C25K, I primed and painted two rooms and finished at 4 p.m. I was pooped. Brin? Hahahahahaha! I KNEW she would quit. I plan on showing her that her mama can do it! 🙂

Comments are closed.