Skip to content
June 27, 2012 / dcwisdom

Day 2: Couch-to-5K

Day 2 is done.  Yes, I dragged myself out of bed at 6:20 and hit the dusty trail.  Unfortunately, my Couch-to-5K partner didn’t show up.  Y’all do me a favor and hop over to Brin’s blog and give her the 1-2 about it.  I can hardly believe that on the second day she gave me the slip.

Anyhoo, anybody else walking/jogging with me would leave me behind, because I’m taking it extremely easy.  Since I have a history of shin splints, I would appreciate any tips you can give me to avoid them, if at all possible.  When I ran track in high school, I would bandage my shins before I ran, which helped.   If you have read my blog in the last two years, you will remember my crazy attempt to resurrect myself on the church league’s softball field.  I ended up rooting for my team from the sidelines because of shin splints and because, frankly, I could not raise myself to the team standards, one standard being running to first base instead of walking.   My final time at bat, I hit to the shortstop and walked to first base.  Couldn’t run at all.  After that, I resigned from the batting order.

These were typical softball scenarios:   Since I was the last and poorest batter on the team, if I got a walk to first base, that was good for me.  If I hit the ball and was able to get to first base without being thrown out, well, that was good for me, but not typical.  However, that wasn’t so good for the roster’s first batter, being my 23-year-old Kid #3 Jeremiah, who lives, breathes, eats, and dreams baseball and body builds.  Jeremiah always hit to the outfield and sometimes out of the park.  (He’s playing in a baseball league now and hit four homeruns in one game.)

If I happened to make it to first base, Jeremiah always hit long and far, so by the time I dragged myself half-way to second base, he was on my heals.  He would start yelling at me, “RUN, Mom, RUN!”  I’d yell back, “I’m running as fast as I can!”  He would nag me around the bases, and sometimes we would both be out at homeplate if we didn’t stop at third and second bases.  We most always took the chance that we could both score on his long hit.   It didn’t always work, by no fault of Jeremiah’s.

Leaving my plethora of softball stories behind, I was barely jogging up an incline this morning and was assaulted from behind by a strange and friendly puppy.  I did not hear him coming, and he startled me so much so that I jumped, and I think my heart skipped a beat.  He finished the journey with me and followed me home.  Bella, my chihuahua, had a conniption fit upon seeing the young pup and chased him around the house but failed to chase him away.  I called Bella inside and gave her a treat for being so ferocious.  The pup wanted to come in, so I figure he is somebody’s dog who is often invited inside the house.

Also, on my route home, I spied some treasures and gathered them.  I am a treasure hunter and taught my children to search for treasures by watching, observing, and hunting.  Years ago when my stair-step children were small, I created games to keep them busy, occupied, and entertained.  When I was forced to take them grocery shopping (UGH!), I would say to them, “We’re going on a treasure hunt today.”  The rules in the store were no running, hold on to the cart, and look for, say, a can with a picture of cut green beans (or a bunch of bananas, etc.) to put in the cart.  When our shopping was done, I awarded each a small treat.

Training children to do this when they are very young is helpful when they get older.  Then, you can send them to different places in the store to collect your shopping items, which keeps your shopping time to a minimum.  Other benefits are:  1) Children learn to behave while shopping;  2) No begging is allowed; 3) They learn the layout of the store; 4) They eventually shop and purchase food at an earlier age; 5) They learn math and value of items, etc.   As for the 4th benefit, if a store had a certain special like Buy $10 worth of groceries and get a china plate free or something like that, I divided my list among my children, gave them money to pay, and got home with four new china plates.  There are tons of lessons in grocery shopping.

Ok, back to treasure hunting…

Outside, the rules were:  Walk and search the parking lot for coins.  I had to specify coins, because you can find lots of odd items on a parking lot.  I once found a friend’s checkbook!

My point is that I continue this game with myself, always looking to the ground for treasures.

And living in the country and walking/jogging on dirt paths and country roads, the treasures that earth burps up keep me hunting.

I most likely will teach my grandchildren to treasure hunt, and maybe they will run a 5K race with me someday.  That’s a worthy goal for me, don’t you think?

REMINDER:  Does anyone have suggestions to avoid shin splints?

Peace and love.  Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.  God bless Israel.  God help America.

 
2 Comments

  1. debsladybugtexas / Jun 28 2012 8:44 PM

    I like to treasure hunt too…I hope someone has suggestions for shin splits I would like to know also..

    • dcwisdom / Jul 1 2012 6:52 PM

      I really thought I’d get some suggestions from some runners out there. I’ll let you know.

Comments are closed.