Skip to content
June 25, 2012 / dcwisdom

Ooo…Help Me, Y’all, With Couch-to-5K

It’s early, and I just finished my first day of Couch-to-5K.

In case you haven’t heard of Couch-to-5K, it’s the newest thing to getting people off the couch to running a 5K race in nine weeks.  Well, my old body will put their claims to the test.  This program has the right name, because I can certainly be considered a couch potato.

[This picture grabbed from Google.]

This girl ran a little track in high school (in my previous life eons ago), and since, I have been more out of shape than in with some aerobics classes, speed walking, Pilates, and Zumba sprinkled here and there.  My want-to is big, but my make-do is hit and miss, which indicates a somewhat lack of discipline in the area of exercise.  Brin is my partner in this project, and we are bound and determined to run a 5K and be “pepper” before Christmas.

“Pepper” is the newest word for “hot,” like “You are HOT!”  This is how you say it:  You look at your girlfriend sideways, point your finger, and say in a slow drawl, “You are PEPPER, girl!”  That’s how I saw it done.  But I’m an old woman; what do I know?

Can a 56-year-old woman run 5K in just nine short weeks?  You read it here.  I’ll keep you posted.

Y’all have a beautiful day.

7 Comments

  1. tanna / Jun 26 2012 4:52 PM

    You go, Pepper!! 😉 I am most confident that you can do it, Debbie!! I’m proud you are working in that direction! And, yeah, where is another Reagan??? Please…
    blessings ~ tanna

  2. debsladybugtexas / Jun 25 2012 12:53 PM

    so cool very proud of you…I need to look into this also

    • dcwisdom / Jun 25 2012 6:26 PM

      I’m trying! First day was good.

  3. Vickie / Jun 25 2012 9:33 AM

    I’ll be your biggest fan! You go girl! (Can I root from my couch?)

    • dcwisdom / Jun 25 2012 6:26 PM

      Of course! At least I made it off the couch…

  4. jmgoyder / Jun 25 2012 9:11 AM

    I got exhausted just thinking about this – ha!
    Go, Pepper!

    • dcwisdom / Jun 25 2012 6:27 PM

      Yep, I just try not to think about it and just do it. I might end up with a new nickname, huh? 🙂

Comments are closed.