Skip to content
June 7, 2012 / dcwisdom

Relief

I found the little, fat sucker!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Don’t know where he disappeared to yesterday, but today he met worm eternity.

You know something I’ve never figured out?  (That’s such a rhetorical question.  There’s a lot I haven’t figured out.)  I do not understand the Hindu concept of reincarnation that my grandmother will someday re-enter the world as a fly or a horn worm or a cow.  Do you know why I can’t grasp that?  Because why, in heaven’s name, would anyone want to come back as a lowly animal?  Where is the HOPE in that?    I find NO hope in that belief.  In fact, I think it probably brings much sadness and grief to someone who believes that.

There’s no way I want to become a fly whisperer and think I’m communicating with my grandmother.  If she wanted to communicate with me, she’d have to fly around my head, buzz in my ear, and otherwise drive me to find the fly swatter.  And could I ever understand her?  Not likely, and if anyone says they can understand fly transmits, I think he must have a screw loose somewhere.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I appreciate all my blog readers, whoever you are.  Some of you are good blog friends and make me LOL with your replies, and I treasure my pen pal friendships.  Some of you email your responses and help me think deeper, more compassionately, or make me lighten up.  Some of you just read, and that’s fine.   Thanks for reading the prophetic, the satirical (although I hope I’m not hurtfully sharp), the silly, the reflective, the spiritual.  I find that blogging is a terrific writing exercise and awesomely cathartic, and gives welcome relief from my outside life.

Maybe I should take up jogging.

3 Comments

  1. Jean | DelightfulRepast.com / Jun 16 2012 10:45 AM

    I’m afraid I would have sent him to worm eternity too! Only snails and slugs and potato bugs are more hideous! Oh and termites–wish they could understand that I’d happily buy them a constant supply of wood to chew on in the backyard if they’d just leave my house alone!

    • dcwisdom / Jun 16 2012 9:56 PM

      Oh, Jean…I feel your pain. I have a termite problem, too! Been battling them for three years! Reminds me to call my exterminator next week… Thanks.

  2. Lois / Jun 12 2012 6:18 PM

    I have to agree with you! Amazing photo and you’re much braver than me in getting rid of him. Enjoy!

Comments are closed.