Skip to content
June 4, 2012 / dcwisdom

“The Body”

Twenty years after publication, I am reading Charles Colson’s The Body.  In the flap:  “Colson dares Christians to renounce the petty, sectarian divisions that blunt the church’s witness in the world and calls us to affirm our oneness even as we celebrate our diversity.  He tackles some of our most cherished sacred cows:  rigid formulas and status quo idolatries that have typified us but have nothing to do with the flaming, radical calling for the church to be the people of God.”

Will you vote the values that will stand the test of fire? Some things are more important than high gas prices or a faltering economy. They are life, marriage and freedom. This November, Catholics must stand up and protect their sacred rights and duties. Produced by: http://www.creative-lab.com

The above YouTube is powerful.  I pasted the short testimonial from the web page.

Since my youth, I have always believed that no specific denomination has the corner on Christianity, and that has been proven throughout my life.  There are believers in every denomination, although through the years we have disagreed on specific doctrines; at times, violently.  God forgive us.

Colson says that even atheists fight not to believe in God:

Some knowledge of spiritual truth is in every human heart [Romans 1].  There is no such thing as an atheist.  Those we call atheists are actually people fleeing from the truth–usually rebelling, not on intellectual grounds, but on moral grounds [my emphasis].  Refusing to submit themselves, they exchange the truth for a lie and are dead in their sins.
But God works as He wills to overcome our rebellion.  Like the wind that blows through the trees, He can neither be seen nor directed.  He touches the heart.  He breathes through snowflakes.  The point is, Hedoes it.  Hecalls people to Himself, conceiving the new life in the Spirit in the secret place of the soul.  He does so through one mediator between God and man, Jesus Christ [page 86].

I am seeing evidence of a spiritual renewal.  Yesterday, Rick and I talked with a young man in his late 20’s.  His uncle, a friend of ours, passed away recently, and we expressed our sympathies to him.  The young man said, “On  his deathbed, Uncle Chuck witnessed to everybody, even the nurses and doctors.  He preached to us to turn away from our sins and follow Jesus.  I have been away from God for a long time and did some awful things.  I even let somebody draw all over my body with a magic marker.  I was rough.  But, Jesus found me.  I have turned my life over to Jesus.”

My friend Cindy, who’s serving a life sentence in prison, beautifully wrote in her last letter, ” He [God] was requiring a serious, greater commitment of me in an area.  I had given Him everything in my eyes – except I had held a piece of myself back because of my own wounding.  He, like with David, used a story to expose an area of brokeness (sic) that I had held to myself and then He required it of me.    Teaching me all the time about spiritual warfare, the anointing, submission, and humility…This was an area of great importance and the Lord was requiring it under no uncertain terms.  The exposure was strong, but the handling was gentle.  There are those places of memorial in our lives where God requires something dearly intimate to us that when we obey, He moves in our lives with such sweet anointing of joy, peace, healing, and deliverance…He pulled the cover back and put His finger on something.  I could neither slide out from under His touch; nor, did I want to.  All I could do while penned under His touch was be still and blink at him.  I’ve long since learned not to speak when I have nothing of value to say to Him…It was a deep place in my heart I had kept to myself because of something in my childhood.  The Lord made it very clear that I must release that area in order for the anointing to flow through…unincumbered…”

Our hope is not with any man who claims that he can bring “change” to our nation.  The only “change” a man can bring is “chains.”  Our only true hope of liberty was offered by one person – Jesus.

John 3: 16-21:  16For God so loved the world that he gave his only Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life.  17For God sent the Son into the world, not to condemn the world, but that the world might be saved through him.  18He who believes in him is not condemned; he who does not believe is condemned already, because he has not believed in the name of the only Son of God.  19And this is the judgment, that the light has come into the world, and men loved darkness rather than light, because their deeds were evil. 20For every one who does evil hates the light, and does not come to the light, lest his deeds should be exposed.   21But he who does what is true comes to the light, that it may be clearly seen that his deeds have been wrought in God.

Peace and love.  Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.  God bless Israel.  God help America.

 

 

 

 

3 Comments

  1. jmgoyder / Jun 4 2012 9:02 PM

    Much food for thought here!

    • dcwisdom / Jun 4 2012 9:29 PM

      I think deeply sometimes. 🙂

      • jmgoyder / Jun 4 2012 9:29 PM

        Funnily I try not to think deeply sometimes – ha!

Comments are closed.