Skip to content
May 26, 2012 / dcwisdom

On Being Texan – Texas Drought and Water Wells

Normally, the spring atmosphere in East Texas feels heavy with humidity, but this month, the southern winds have blown dry.

(I grabbed this map from here.)  If you draw an imaginary line from Dallas straight south to Harlingen in the Rio Grande Valley, to the east of that line you can find the wonderful green of Texas – timber, farmland, rolling hills, and gulf shores.  The atmospheres’ highs and lows push and pull gulf moisture around our state, normally keeping East Texas fairly comfortable and wet enough to grow nice gardens and keep the water parks and recreational lakes in business.

I am not a meteorologist, but I played the role of receptionist of the Meteorology Department at Texas A&M-College Station many years ago.  That position did not help me, even through daily osmosis, to understand anything associated with weather.  All I have learned, I learned from watching The Weather Channel.  (Rant Warning:  Dear The Weather Channel, I just want to inform you that there are other people in the US besides New York and Boston who care about their weather, not New York’s or Boston’s.  You think New York or Boston has real weather?  Baaaaa!  You want to see some real weather?  Come to Texas.)  So from all I meteorologically know (which is nothing), there’s been no rain for a month and none forecasted for a while, and it’s dry.  Still.

Last evening after Rick and I ate taco salad, I cleared the table and turned on the water to rinse the dishes to discover low water pressure.  (Thank you, God, for running water!)  I commented to Rick about the low water pressure, and we hurried to the water well (one of the advantages and disadvantages of living in the country).  Peering down the well about 50 or 60 feet using flashlights, we saw the water level below the pump.  Not a good sign.

Fortunately through the night, the water level rose.  Today, we have water again, but until we receive good rainfall, we put ourselves on a water rationing program.  Our options are to drill a deeper well to the tune of $10,000 or ration and speed up progress on the Renovation House and move.  (I think I could finish the house with $30,000 – $40,000, if anyone feels so inclined to contribute (ha!) to a very worthy cause.)

Indeed, how very fortunate and blessed we are to have good, clear, running water.  Thank God.

Peace and love.  Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.  God bless Israel.  God help America.

 

7 Comments

  1. debsladybugtexas / May 27 2012 9:48 PM

    The cracks in the ground are getting wider…hopefully relief soon

    • dcwisdom / May 28 2012 9:18 AM

      Shall we pray.

  2. Vickie / May 26 2012 9:23 PM

    Hey good buddy – I hear ya on the water. Luckily our farmhouse is on community water. We have a well and pump, too, but it has very LOW pressure – can’t even run a sprinkler out in the yard. I’d love to drill another well, but can’t afford that $10,000 either. It’s dry here – that south wind streaks across our place with no trees to stop it. Really k eeping the volunteer fire departments busy around here. We hear them every day! I know ya’ll will be glad to get your house finished…

    • dcwisdom / May 26 2012 10:25 PM

      Back atcha, kid! Where’ve you been? I have missed you like a chicken misses a june bug.
      Next Thursday is my birthday. How about a lunch date next week? Dutch.

  3. jmgoyder / May 26 2012 7:59 PM

    I just noticed for the first time your daughters’ names on the right – I have a brother Brin, short for Brinsley which was also my father’s name. I’m curious about your ‘Brin’!

    • dcwisdom / May 26 2012 10:20 PM

      Email me: dcwisdom@yahoo.com

  4. jmgoyder / May 26 2012 7:57 PM

    Ah, the water problem – all too familiar!

Comments are closed.