Skip to content
May 24, 2012 / dcwisdom

Where Three States Meet – It Isn’t Impressive

Last Tuesday, I accompanied my mom and aunt to the Three States (Texas-Louisiana-Arkansas) hot dog stand.  It’s owned and managed by a guy named Lucky from Detroit.  Imagine that.  He sits within yards of the states’ quaint meeting point, sharing his offset location with a drive-thru liquor store and bar.  A country hot dog stand located miles from any town is quite the anomaly, but Lucky serves up a mean chili dog.

Actually, I wanted my aunt to see the three-states marker.  Not that it’s any big deal.  It isn’t.  But she’s a historical buff and avid reader, and I thought she should add this to her pages-long list of things seen in her lifetime.

If you ever travel the area of Texas Highway 77/Louisiana Highway 1, remember:  X marks the spot, and don’t blink your eyes as you pass.  The three-states marker is downright, near invisible.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Through the years, larger and more prominent markers were stolen.  Only one marker remains which is buried several feet into the ground at the base of a monstrous tree.  (Which came first?  The tree or the marker?)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Isn’t she a cutie-patootie?!  My mom – a two-time cancer survivor, sitting on the Three States Throne.  Go, Mom!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And there you have it.

I really hope you enjoyed this fascinating tour…

Don’t forget to stop in and say hello to Lucky.  He sells a chili-cheese dog and lemonade for $3!

Peace and love.  Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.  God bless Israel.  God help America.

9 Comments

  1. jmgoyder / May 24 2012 7:40 PM

    I think my dad took us there when we were kids.
    Your ma looks beautiful!

    • dcwisdom / May 24 2012 11:29 PM

      You were here??? Small world! Yes, she is, thank you. She gets more beautiful as the years go by.

    • dcwisdom / May 24 2012 11:35 PM

      You were here??? Small world!

  2. Debbie / May 24 2012 7:06 PM

    What I was sayin was that if I come down there to see you is this where you’re gonna take me for lunch? I thought we were eating at Jefferson. Also, I’m so glad you spend so much time with your mom. We might have to take her with us. I think you may have gotten your ‘funny’ gene from her! Is that a possibility?

    • dcwisdom / May 24 2012 11:33 PM

      You betcha, if you wanna! :)) Actually, my dad was the ham and my mom is ditzy — but don’t tell her I said that. She would be offended. Combination genes for me.

  3. Debbie / May 24 2012 7:05 PM

    Still trying to leave a comment dangit!

    • dcwisdom / May 24 2012 11:33 PM

      You did!

  4. debsladybugtexas / May 24 2012 1:48 PM

    love it…saw it once many years ago when we were driving to Illinios…your Mom is adorable

    • dcwisdom / May 24 2012 3:21 PM

      You certainly drove out of your way to see it! Did you also see the large bi-state marker at the State Line Post Office in Downtown Texarkana? That’s a very popular photo site.
      Thank you for saying Mom is adorable. She is!

Comments are closed.