Skip to content
May 20, 2012 / dcwisdom

Two Summa Cum Laude Graduates

I need to ask Kid#4 Sam, who graduated last weekend, for forgiveness.  I neglected to say that he graduated Summa Cum Laude (with highest praise).  Actually, he didn’t tell me, and not until I viewed his transcript did I realize his accomplishment.  I didn’t even read the program.  (I’m such a bad mama.)  CONGRATULATIONS, Sam!

Today was Kid#3 Jeremiah’s turn.  He also graduated Summa Cum Laude!  Why was I chosen to birth such smart people?!  Thank you, God!

Jeremiah received his bachelor’s degree in biology and pulled all A’s in his five years of college.  Over the last few weeks, he sweated over one particular class, worrying about his grade.  I knew he was putting in extra study time and meeting with a study group.  However, I didn’t realize the pressure he put himself under until he came to me one evening this week and quietly stated, “Mom, I did it.”  I turned to him and asked, “Jere, what did you do?”

He said, with a huge smile, “I made an A in the class.”

We hugged and jumped up and down together!  What a celebration we had, just the two of us!  I could feel his happiness and relief.  I shed a tear or two.

I totally, whole-heartedly love my children.  But, Jeremiah and I have shared what few parents/children share.  We shared college and common classmates.  We shared a current events class last summer.  This semester, we shared a building; we had evening classes just two doors down from each other. 

As a mom, I had a little way of getting my kids’ attention.  Instead of saying something or yelling to them (oh, I did plenty of that, too), I would do a “pssssst” to them.  I could psssst them, and they would look.  No one else would look, but they would.  It was our signal.  So, when I passed the classroom where Jeremiah attended, I stood to the side of the door frame and psssst at Jeremiah.  He always looked, and we would pass communication to each other out of the professor’s view.  I signaled an are-you-hungry sign, and he would always nod yes.  Then I signaled the call-me-after-class sign, and we met up for many 9 p.m. dinners.

Many nights, his classmates arrived here at home to study until the wee morning hours.  One of Jere’s classmates is Muslim, and I would offer the guys a ham and cheese omelet.  At first, Zunair was very polite saying he wasn’t hungry, but I caught on quickly.  Thereafter, I always offered pork belly rinds or a BLT (bacon-lettuce-tomato sandwich) or leftover potato-ham casserole as a joke.  I will miss Jere’s study groups.

I’ll miss this kid when he leaves.  If he ever does…

Rarely have I taken a picture of just my five kids, but here they are.  I don’t know how this happened!

There you have it.  The last of my family’s graduations…for now.  I hope to be walking in December.   You’re invited.

Peace and love.  Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.  God bless Israel.  God help America.

7 Comments

  1. marylou55 / May 25 2012 4:40 AM

    Excellent job you, your husband, and God have done! I’ve been catching up on your posts and see I have missed so much. Congratulations to all of you.

    • dcwisdom / May 25 2012 10:36 AM

      Hey! I’ve missed seeing you lately. Are you ok?

  2. debsladybugtexas / May 20 2012 5:18 AM

    Such smart kiddos you have and a good looking group too…good job Mom and Dad

    • dcwisdom / May 20 2012 9:50 AM

      Thanks, Deb. They are pretty, if I say so myself! 🙂 Of course, I’m biased.

  3. LexoKat / May 20 2012 1:30 AM

    Aww! This is adorable! I remember last year when I graduated (from high-school, lol) how it felt like. They’re very smart! I’m sure they got it from their mother. Wish you all the best. And congrats!

    • dcwisdom / May 20 2012 9:49 AM

      Thanks, Lex. I have to give credit where credit is due. If God were not on my side, I would be doomed indeed. 🙂 Congratulations on your graduation, too! From an old college person to a new adult: Whatever aspirations you have, Lex, go for it while you’re young. Don’t stop learning. Wishing you all the best…

      • LexoKat / May 20 2012 12:05 PM

        Thanks so much for this! I really appreciate it! God bless us all!

Comments are closed.