Skip to content
May 18, 2012 / dcwisdom

Recycling Old Fiberglass Insulation

Whew!

I sat on my porch swing to cool off and have a cold, stiff lemonade.  I wished for a Mike’s Hard Lemonade but had to settle.

I finally finished installing the last of the insulation between the floors of the house for sound proofing.  By myself.  Alone.  With fiberglass insulation.

In case you knowing nothing about working with fiberglass insulation, (of course) I’m going to tell you…dress in layers, head to toe.  Even when the outdoor F temps are upper 80s.  Cover your head, wear goggles, dust mask, button all shirt buttons and sleeve cuffs, don gloves, tuck jeans in your rubber boots.   Do not forsake one article.

I started with a pile twice this size, but allow me backtrack, please.  I have worked on this project for a while now.  When we first bought this country house, we planned to move in after a few minor renovations.  Only a few.  The few snowballed, and we rebuilt this house from the frame, doing all the work ourselves (except for enclosing another 500 square feet, installing James Hardie siding and new roof).  I disliked – extremely – the drywall finish throughout the house.  Plus, it had absorbed some terrible odors.   One day, I decided to strip the drywall, so the kids and I threw open all the windows and chucked two floors of drywall out the windows.  All of it.

Much to our chagrin, we discovered bad plumbing and dangerous wiring – BAD!  Rick and I tackled these projects since he was a contractor and knew codes for each job, and it took many months of DIY to re-route wiring and plumbing, especially including a new addition.

So today, my job was to finish insulating between floors, and wrap up this project.  Kid #4 Sam and I filled eight contractor bags full of reusable insulation and hauled it to his and Emily’s house.  Do you remember my post about their $1400.00 house?  The old insulation will be recycled in their house, saving them a little cash for another need. 

It was so nice to cross off yet another item from my list.  Check.

The not-yet-installed water heater seen in the picture is a 75-gallon Marathon.  Rick and I researched, thought about a tankless, but decided on a Marathon.  Good decision, we think.

Sat on the porch with my lemonade and woke up an hour later.  Ahhhh…country living.

Peace and love.  Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.  God bless Israel.  God help America.

5 Comments

  1. iphone 4S kopen / May 20 2012 9:10 AM

    I’ve found youre article on my iPhone 4 Kopen and i wanna say thanks for it! It’s a nice website you have over here! I’ll visit it more in the future! Thanks, Frank

  2. tanna / May 19 2012 8:01 AM

    Woman after my own heart!! I have kind of slowed down on my big overhauls, but I can certainly appreciate all the hard work that goes into a project of this magnitude! Great job. And, your porch looks like the perfect spot for a Hard Lemonade. 😉 blessings ~ tanna
    ps that’s the water heater we put in our last “project”, too. I laughingly refer to it as my “bomb”.

    • dcwisdom / May 19 2012 10:49 PM

      Tanna,
      We Marathoners have to stick together. 😉 However, this is my last BIG project. After 11 years of buying and selling houses, I’m tired. It’s time to be in my own cocoon and chill.
      XO

  3. debsladybugtexas / May 18 2012 10:19 AM

    so cool that you could recycle and share with the kids….love your porch

    • dcwisdom / May 18 2012 4:21 PM

      Sharing is good. 🙂

Comments are closed.