Skip to content
May 17, 2012 / dcwisdom

The Monarchs Are Back

Well, I went to Google and asked, “What are baby Monarch butterflies called?”  Somebody gave the smart-alack answer, “[Duh…]Caterpillars!”   I actually looked for an answer like kittens or puppies or monarchies; alas, no, baby monarchs are called caterpillars.

Ok, Duh.

I had ten or more young Monarchs in my wildflowers this morning.  The little boogers were loving the Echinacea (purple cone flowers).  I planted zinnias (one of my favorite flowers) I grew from seeds just so I have plenty of zinnia blooms in the garden this summer. 

I found some Indian Blankets, catnip, and lemon balm at Newkirk’s, too.  I plan to buy a little stuffed toy for Brin’s Miss Marple kitty and insert some catnip for her.  I’m not going to tell Brin.  Miss Marple will go crazy with the catnip in her toy, and Brin will wonder What got into you, Marple?  (Have you ever heard of a cat named Miss Marple?)  

Last summer’s drought killed my cherry sage and lemonii bushes, so I’m looking to replace those soon.   Those bushes neighbored a big rosemary bush, and rosemary hung in throughout the drought.  Rosemary is tough.

We also discovered several dead dogwood tress in the woods, and Rick’s treasured Japanese maple died, too.  He almost cried.  That man loves his trees.  Drought is harsh, but it’s a part of life.   C’est la vie.

Here’s to gentle sunshine, sweet water, crazy catnip, and Miss Marple.  Amen.

Peace and love.  Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.  God bless Israel.  God help America.

8 Comments

  1. photonatureblog / May 17 2012 7:52 PM

    I think these might be Painted Lady butterflies instead of Monarchs. They are very pretty in any case 🙂

    • dcwisdom / May 18 2012 12:24 AM

      Oh wow! Painted Ladies! Didn’t know about them. They look so much like Monarchs. My bad. Yes, they are very beautiful, in any case – you are right.

  2. tanna / May 17 2012 6:38 PM

    Rosemary is incredibly relisient. LOVE it. for its smell, its flavor and its relilience!

    So sad about the trees that were lost last year. I sure hope we aren’t going to have another summer like last…. we will all be developing landscapes more likely found in AZ. 😉 blessings ~ tanna

    • dcwisdom / May 18 2012 12:28 AM

      Tanna, I already have new succulents. Let’s pray for rain now instead of when we’re desperate for it. I don’t particularly favor desert flora.

  3. photonatureblog / May 17 2012 5:37 PM

    Beautiful!

    • dcwisdom / May 17 2012 5:38 PM

      Thanks! 🙂

  4. dcwisdom / May 17 2012 4:52 PM

    They are! I was so surprised to see little babies, not caterpillars. I see plenty of those, too. Nice to hear from you. Hope you are enjoying your California spring!

  5. debby9972 / May 17 2012 4:36 PM

    Beautiful….I love that they are little!

Comments are closed.