Skip to content
May 9, 2012 / dcwisdom

Finding the Truth – How Much Is Your Freedom Worth

This picture came to me by email.

My good (I hope) friend, Lanny, always calls me on email forwards.  He’s a terrific analyzer and researcher, and I like to analyze but do not always take time to research what crosses my laptop screen.  My bad.  Although Lanny claims to have been an average high school student (as do I), I know that he’s far above average in knowledge and analytical skills.  He searches for truth on issues and, metaphorically and verbally, slaps my hand when I push things without discovery.

So, when I saw this bubbled quote, I thought of Lanny.   A few conscious thoughts, and I’m sure a million subconscious thoughts, passed through my brain on the truth of these statements.

Makes me wonder how many half-truths I’ve believed and how many half-truths I’ve spoken.  And we all know that half-truths are lies, don’t we?  I mean, it’s either all the way true or it’s not.

In thinking about half-truths and in searching for truth, one requires a plumb line with which to compare a half truth.  I like this analogy, because the carpenter’s plumb aligns with the factual truth of gravity.  When a carpenter needs a true vertical line, he attaches his plumb to an object above.  The weight hangs perfectly vertical.  Gravity is absolute.  It doesn’t matter that you believe you built a straight wall.  If it’s not plumb, it’s off.

Nature reflects absoluteness.   Science bears it out:  the perfection of the flight of birds, the migration of teams of fish, the order of the universe, the body’s delicate chemistry.  The order, the organization, the detail could not have come by any other but by an absolute.  The never-before-seen creature to the right was washed up from the depths of the ocean from Japan’s tsunami.  How amazing!  What theoretical “bang” could have intricately formed this delicate creature?

What is the definition of truth?

The root of this word is aman, a word often translated as “believe” but more literally means “support” as we see in Isaiah 22:23 where it says “I will drive him like a peg in a place of support…” A belief in God is not a mental exercise of knowing that God exists but rather our responsibility to show him our support. The word “emet” has the similar meaning of firmness, something that is firmly set in place. Psalmes 119:142 says, “the ‘Torah’ (the teachings of God) is ’emet’ (set firmly in place).

El Emet – The God of Truth (Psalm 31:5) – meaning firmness, faithfulness, reliableness.

Truth, the teachings of God, support of God[‘s character], is ’emet’ – set firmly in place.  The plumb line.  To know the truth (the reliable support) of any issue, test it against the Truth (the Word) of God, aligning it with the absolute teaching(s) of God.

He is the Rock, his work is perfect:  for all his ways are judgment [truth]:  a God of truth and without iniquity, just and right is he. (Deuteronomy 32:4 KJV)

Behold, I was shapen in iniquity , and in sin did my mother conceive me.  [You] [desire] truth in the inward parts:  and in the hidden part [You] shalt make me to know wisdom.  (Psalm 51:5-6 KJV)

God made our inward parts to yearn for truth; there’s a place within us that desires truth.  Children are mirrors of this precept.  They absolutely smell and taste yuck – yuck in people and falsehood, good and evil.  Adam and Eve desired to know truth.  Instead of seeking truth from The Creator God (Elohim), they listened to the serpent who spoke a half truth.  The half truth they chose to believe and their choice to obey another voice instead of God’s voice resulted in their banishment from the Presence of God and their perfect world.

I was reading this morning in Psalms 7, and you might be surprised by this.  I will type the King James first and then The Message/Remix.  (Perhaps The Message/Remix version was paraphrased from another source besides the KJV.  The Remix is a very loose version, as you can see, but it gives a picturesque, albeit sometimes funny, description of the Scripture.)

(KJV)  God judgeth the righteous, and God is angry with the wicked every day.   (v14) Behold, he [the wicked] travaileth with iniquity and hath conceived mischief, and brought forth falsehood.  (v15) He [the wicked] made a pit, and digged it, and is fallen into the ditch which he made.  (v16) His mischief shall return upon his own head, and his violent dealing shall come down upon his own pate (head). 

(TM/R)  Nobody gets by with anything.  God is already in action.  Look at that guy!  He had sex with sin, he’s pregnant with evil.  Oh, look!  He’s having the baby — a Lie-Baby!  See the man shoveling day after day, digging, then concealing, his man-trap down that lonely stretch of road?  Go back and look again —you’ll see him in it headfirst, legs waving in the breeze.  That’s what happens; mischief backfires, violence boomerangs.

Half truths are dangerous.  Half-truths are threatening our American freedoms.  Our nation is facing a perilous, political time in our history.  Truth is exchanged for half-truths and outright lies, and the great majority accepts what is said at face value.  We Americans are smarter than that.  If all we do is analyze what’s being touted for truth and compare the issues to the Truths of God and witness and vote accordingly, then we’ve performed better than average.  If we accept statements and issues as truth without putting them against the plumb line, we have failed in discovering the truth.  Yes, it will require time and effort.

How much is your freedom worth?

Peace and love.  Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.  God bless Israel.  God help America.

3 Comments

  1. jmgoyder / May 10 2012 12:22 AM

    Where is your ‘subscribe’ button, or am I blind?

    • dcwisdom / May 10 2012 9:12 AM

      Ok. Found it. The follow is in the comment box or on the top left corner of the screen beside my icon.

      • jmgoyder / May 10 2012 9:18 AM

        Sorry – already figured it out so I could put you on my bloglist – thank you so much for all your wisdom and love your blog!

Comments are closed.