Skip to content
May 5, 2012 / dcwisdom

It’s (not my) Graduation Time

Years ago, I contemplated this moment in time.  College graduation.

I attended college after high school and collected 35 hours.  Got married.  Had a child.  I graduated from junior college and worked successfully in my field.  Collected more hours.  Now, as I reflect on my college career, I wish someone had pushed me to take three or six hours a semester, to keep moving.  That’s one aspect of my educational life that I regret – stopping formal studies.

I have a graduation choice:  December or next May, depending on how I want to proceed.  Surely, I’m one of the oldest college students in the world.  Yes, a bright light shines at the end of this 38-year-old tunnel for this college senior-senior.  Finally.  I have yet to make the final decision, but I’ll have a concrete plan in August.

Until then, my immediate and extended family have seven combined graduations this month.  I extend my whole-hearted congratulations and forever love to 1) Kid #3 Jeremiah at Texas A&M-Texarkana, 2) Kid #4 Sam at Christ For the Nations, 3) daughter-in-law Emily at El Centro-Dallas, 4) nephew at University of Texas-Arlington, 5) niece at Baylor University, 6) niece at Texas A&M-College Station, and 7) niece as her high school’s Salutatorian.

When I graduate, you’re all invited.

Peace and love.  Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.  God bless Israel.  God help America.

 

8 Comments

  1. Rayanne (@alovelythought) / May 6 2012 8:57 PM

    My husband went back to school, and he was the oldest! Kinda weird, but hey, he’s happy now and has a great job, praise the Lord!! Hope things work out for you, I think it’s neat you went back to school…yippee!!!!

    • dcwisdom / May 7 2012 4:20 PM

      Cheers to old people! 🙂 That’s for the encouragement! I really like school this time around.

  2. tanna / May 6 2012 7:12 AM

    Ditto what Vickie says and CONGRATULATIONS to all the graduates!! blessings ~ tanna

    • dcwisdom / May 7 2012 4:19 PM

      Yes, ma’am, thanks!

  3. jmgoyder / May 6 2012 12:31 AM

    Congratulations to all of you!!!

    • dcwisdom / May 7 2012 4:18 PM

      Thank you. One down. The next two weeks will be party central!

  4. Vickie / May 5 2012 10:08 PM

    I think they should throw you a big shin-dig and lavish you with gifts and proclaim a national holiday for you, Deb! We’re all so proud for you completing your degree! And be thankful, too, because you put your life on hold for all those loved ones in your family that you put first. Now it’s YOUR TURN to SHINE!

    • dcwisdom / May 7 2012 4:17 PM

      Thanks, Chickie! I’m excited. Just wish I could walk the aisle and stage with Jeremiah. But, by the time I graduate, I’ll be dancing! XO

Comments are closed.