Skip to content
May 3, 2012 / dcwisdom

On Being Texan

Born and raised.  Inbred and natural pride.  A romance.  Distinguishable.

“I have said that Texas is a state of mind, but I think it is more than that. It is a mystique closely approximating a religion. And this is true to the extent that people either passionately love Texas or passionately hate it and, as in other religions, few people dare to inspect it for fear of losing their bearings in mystery or paradox. But I think there will be little quarrel with my feeling that Texas is one thing. For all its enormous range of space, climate, and physical appearance, and for all the internal squabbles, contentions, and strivings, Texas has a tight cohesiveness perhaps stronger than any other section of America. Rich, poor, Panhandle, Gulf, city, country, Texas is the obsession, the proper study and the passionate possession of all Texans.”
John Steinbeck, Author 1962.

Steinbeck studied the intercourse of Texas for years before he wrote about her in Texas.  Author Elithe Kirkland penned the biography of Texas’ female legend Harriett Moore Page [Potter] Ames, the love interest of Colonel Robert Potter, in one of my favorite books, Love Is A Wild Assault.  A new favorite book on Texas history is S.C. Gwynne’s Empire of the Summer Moon.  Although Steinbeck’s Texas is historically sound, Kirkland and Gwynne relate their characters’ places in early Texas history, bringing regional history to life.

As much as I love Texas, her legends, and her history, Texas politics is a bear.  Politics hibernates for a season and awakens hungry and on the prowl.  It’s almost as though Texas politics is amnesic; she awakens to a whole new world and problem sets with her past tucked nicely away and Band-aids in hand.

I emailed my Texas government professor and stated, “I love Texas, but loving Texas is like loving the idiot aunt who’s locked away on the third floor of the house.”  To understand her is to tolerate her, to medicate her, to question her, to ignore her, to placate her, to love her.   The average Joe cannot and will not understand Texas politics without an education or assimilation.  That’s just how complex our system is.

I admire anyone who attempts a stab at Texas politics and certainly anyone who enters the arena of Texas politics.  It looks to me to be hell on earth.  But, dang, I love Texas!

“Texas is neither southern nor western. Texas is Texas.” -Senator William Blakley

Peace and love.  Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.  God bless Israel.  God help America.

10 Comments

  1. FifthGenNativeTexan / May 3 2012 10:23 AM

    “In all my life, gentlemen, I will never forget my first visit to the State of Texas. I had been bumped over its sterile plains for a week in an ambulance. I was tired, dusty and worn out. When I reached my destination I found some people there who wanted me to talk and be received and all that sort of thing, before I had a chance to get the sand out of my eyes and ears. One fellow was persistent. He asked me with pure American curiosity what I though of Texas. In a moment of worry and annoyance I said ‘if I owned Hell and Texas, I would live in Hell and rent out Texas.’ The fellow who asked me the question proved to be a reporter…”

    General Phillip Sheridan, Commander of the Fifth Military District, 1865-1867

    • dcwisdom / May 3 2012 10:26 AM

      lol You love her or hate her. Thanks for reading.

  2. walktx / May 3 2012 8:37 AM

    Not a native Texan, but I got here as fast as I could!!! I love Texas!

    • dcwisdom / May 3 2012 8:42 AM

      Oh yeah! Thanks for reading.

  3. Rayanne (@alovelythought) / May 3 2012 7:47 AM

    By the way….I love my TEXAS!!

    • dcwisdom / May 3 2012 8:39 AM

      Of course! 🙂

  4. Rayanne (@alovelythought) / May 3 2012 7:46 AM

    Hi Debbie,
    I’m so sorry I have not gotten back with you till now! I have been so sick, with the Fibro.
    I found the music on my blog on mixpod. I did a search on nature and it had ” Morning birds with chimes”. So that’s how I got it. I hope that helps!
    Please pray for me, I’m going through different meds to try and find one that will help me. I really hate meds and the one I’m on now makes me so dopey.
    Love you friend,
    Rayanne

    • dcwisdom / May 3 2012 8:39 AM

      I emailed you. Thanks for the reference mixpod. I’m praying for you today. XO

  5. jmgoyder / May 3 2012 3:31 AM

    Interesting!

    • dcwisdom / May 3 2012 8:40 AM

      Texas is interesting and a great state and Republic!

Comments are closed.