Skip to content
April 27, 2012 / dcwisdom

Give me a field of wildflowers (weeds?)…

Rick and I are poles apart on, say, 50% of our marriage, marriage including values, ideas, tastes, opinions, personalities, politics, child rearing, decorating, bedtimes…you know.  Heck, make that 75%.  Actually, very few elements of our marriage agree without discussion; I guess that’s why we’ve been married for going on 37 years.  Unbelievable!  You know the old saying “opposites attract,” and that’s definitely true of us.

He is so Type A – TYPE A!  (I just thank God he’s not OCD!  I won’t let him be.)  He’s  symmetrical (perfectly) and exact (down to the millimeter).  He arranges his tableware, aligning everything, even his crumbs – and then he wipes them off the table onto the floor.

Type A, however, pleases his wife by picking up his socks and shoes and personal items.  Very orderly.  I’m blessed that way by Type A.

And, I guess since Type A is symmetrical, Rick truly appreciates Victorian architecture and decor – the whirls and swirls of rich wood, carvings, deep stains and colors, details and intricacies, florals…

If you knew him, you wouldn’t believe that Victorian trivia junk.  Another detail that will astound you is that he would never have any breed of dog than German Shepherd.  Now, he’s a Manchester chihuahua man.

The man hates, and I use that word strongly, weeds.   However, he loves country living, even if it means traveling through a pasture on a car trail instead of a cement drive to get home.

(When I get to heaven, I’m going to ask God about Type A men and the associated dichotomies and mental disorders, especially the chihuahua thing.)

Traveling through a pasture in the spring is a good thing, except for the allergy problems.  I find all sorts of lovely things.    See the green, grassy picture?  The violet flowers on the wheel-spoked vines are gorgeous.  I have no clue what the weed is, but I like it.  Of course, I like it in the pasture and not my yard.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

See the tiny yellow tips?  Awesome!  I think the bright white flower is a nightshade plant.  Maybe…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And now, in honor of Type A…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The only place Type A likes star jasmine is on a Victorian trellis.  That’s how we compromise.  But, I fell in love with the long-haired,  rock-n-roll drummer who sings a little off-tune, and he fell in love with the wildflower child.

Peace and love.  Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.  God bless Israel.  God help America.

 

9 Comments

  1. debby9972 / Apr 29 2012 6:01 PM

    First of all that trellis is gorgeou. He sounds like a great man and everything around you looks absolutely beautiful. I wouldn’t mind a little peace of that country living!

    • dcwisdom / Apr 29 2012 8:17 PM

      Thank you, Deb. We love it. We have LOTS of work yet to do. In time… I guess I’ll keep him. 🙂

    • dcwisdom / Apr 29 2012 8:18 PM

      Thanks, Deb. I guess I’ll keep him. I won’t train another one. We love it. Don’t want to be anywhere else. 🙂

  2. Rayanne (@alovelythought) / Apr 29 2012 1:06 PM

    Oh how I too love the countryside! Lovely photos and friend, you are so funny! Enjoyed your post!
    Much love, Rayanne

    • dcwisdom / Apr 29 2012 8:11 PM

      Yeah, well, I haven’t been funny in a while, so I thought my friends were due. 🙂 XO

  3. tanna / Apr 28 2012 10:11 AM

    Debbie, I’m surprised that a second star jasmine is not needed on the left side of that trellis. LOL! Loved this post!! Loved it. LOL! blessings ~ tanna

    • dcwisdom / Apr 29 2012 8:10 PM

      Like I said, Tanna, that’s how we compromise… lol Actually, I had another vine, Japanese trumpet/honeysuckle (or whatever it is) moving up the other side until I whacked it with the weedeater. Ooops! Yes, it disturbs him every time he looks at it. That’s how I keep the OCD at bay. 🙂

  4. jmgoyder / Apr 27 2012 9:37 PM

    This is lovely!

    • dcwisdom / Apr 28 2012 8:48 AM

      He loves rose bushes and English gardens. What can I say?

Comments are closed.