Skip to content
April 15, 2012 / dcwisdom

The Battle of the Squirrels – Part III

Warning:  WHITE SPACE!  Scroll, please.

Yes, I know I’m going backwards on the Parts, but sometimes I just can’t remember which part I wrote previously.  Next squirrel post will be Part V, because there will be another Squirrely Shirley vs. Sciuridae post, I promise.  This morning, I awoke to these antics…

Scurry and his little friends enjoyed a peaceful, quiet Sunday morning gathering.  What a fellowship!  What a joy divine! having all your friends for Sunday breakfast.  Scurry shared with two pigeons, a barn swallow, and a woodpecker.  I love how they all eat so peaceably together.

As you can see on the tree, I nailed tin under the bird feeders.  Friday night, I happened upon Old Pro (the raccoon) at the feeder nibbling on Scurry’s corn cob.  I don’t mind feeding the birds and squirrels; however, I toss the daily food scraps out the backdoor for Old Pro and his nocturnal friends.  What is puzzling is why Old Pro prefers dried corn rather than insects, small fish, and frogs.

Is Squirrely Shirley smarter than a squirrel?

That’s worthy of debate.

Sciuridae WANTS his seed!

This rodent won’t give up!

I have an announcement:  Yesterday, Saturday, April 14, 2012,  Rick and Debbie finished the DIY project of air conditioning duct work under the house!   *applause*  Except for insulating under the floors, our under-the-house projects are complete!  *more applause*

And the author makes no comment about what may or may not have happened under the house.

Don’t ask; don’t tell.

Mum’s the word.

My lips are sealed.

And I don’t talk smack.

Hardly…

We did some renovation framing on the upstairs master bath and walk-in closet and added several feet of  AC duct into the closet.  Another hour and the entire AC project will be forever finished.  Glory Hallelujah!  While Rick worked, I snapped pictures from the upstairs bath. This is my view of the back yard.

Man, I would love to call the DIY Network and get them to come renovate my backyard.  Our house is situated on a slope and rain water drains from north to south into a pond.

What I would like to do is terrace three or four sections of our yard, sod a couple of sections, and lay a large flagstone  patio for Jane, my gorgeous fountain.

As you can see, I started a cast iron (large upright leafy plants that grow well in shade) bed but haven’t finished laying blocks.

To the right of the cast iron bed (out of the picture), we want to lay another flagstone patio with a wood-burning pizza oven and fire pit.  Rick likes outdoor cooking, and I certainly encourage that!

Glory, Hallelujah!  Just six more classes in this semester and finals!  I’m very excited!

Well, bless his heart, but my Texas Government professor, Genius, was in a quandary.  What Genius told us and what I suspect are two different things, but he was kind to give me an A on my mid-term.  I might not be so fortunate on my final.

So, Genius, if you happen to read this, thank you.  And you know I mean Genius in a totally respectful way.

One thing about re-entering college as a college senior-senior, I lost the fear factor in talking to teachers.  Not that I challenge their knowledge now.  Of course I don’t.  I would never!  That’s why I sit in class.  However, it is much easier to converse and even debate an issue or two because of the experience a college senior-senior has in life experiences.  If I’m wrong, I can admit it, and if I’m right, I know enough to be humble.

Wishing everyone a beautiful week and praying for those who lost all in the mid-west tornadoes.

Peace and love.  Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.  God bless Israel.  God help America.

8 Comments

  1. Walking On Sunshine Recipes / Apr 17 2012 11:57 AM

    Amazing photos of a very determined squirrel! Good luck on the extra work done on the house! And hope the rest of your semester goes well! Our daughter is almost finished as well!

    • dcwisdom / Apr 17 2012 1:34 PM

      Hooray for daughters who are almost finished! A big congratulations to you, as well, Lois. I’m going to enjoy that great recipe this weekend! Thanks.

  2. tanna / Apr 16 2012 4:52 PM

    They are persistent little vermin!! LOL! I think they’ve met their match!! congrats on the progress on the house. (I’m still chuckling over what MIGHT have happened under the house). I’ll look forward to seeing those backyard visions come to fruition. AND HATS OFF on keeping on keeping on with the school. Attagirl!

    Debbie, thank you from the bottom of my heart for your prayers and words of encouragement. I will be forever grateful! blessings and hugs ~ Tanna

    • dcwisdom / Apr 16 2012 11:20 PM

      Tanna, and thank you for your encouragement. Support feels nice, doesn’t it? I hope after I meet with my advisor that I feel encouraged about finishing this project. My problem is that I am having to pick up the sophomore classes that weren’t required for the respiratory therapy program. 😦 Otherwise, I could finish May 2013. I guess I could if I wanted to take 18 hours/semester, but my problem would be in paying for it. School’s expensive!
      Have a beautiful week, dear one! Hope you’re feeling better this week. XO

  3. Vickie / Apr 16 2012 2:45 PM

    Hey buddy – that’s a sneaky squirrel you got there. Put Vaseline all over the hanger…And I’m so proud that ya’ll are getting things done at your reno house – you ARE getting things done at the house, right? Your view of your back yard is pretty great actually, you’ve got that pond and roses and hostas – hey you need ducks. Or some mean geese. Maybe that could be my housewarming present to you. 😉

    • dcwisdom / Apr 16 2012 11:08 PM

      Vaseline! Brilliant! Hey, have you noticed the population of Canadian geese around your parts? In the past, the only time we saw (heard) them was in their flight patterns. Now, I see them in many ponds in this area, including here. We’ve had ducks and geese before, and they are so messy and eat all the fish. Not good for kids that like to fish. However, they eat snakes, too, which is a good thing around here. Eat those cottonmouths! Hope to see you soon! XO

  4. jmgoyder / Apr 15 2012 7:16 PM

    Great post in every way!

    • dcwisdom / Apr 16 2012 8:46 AM

      You are very kind, friend.

Comments are closed.