Skip to content
April 14, 2012 / dcwisdom

Battle of the Squirrels – Part IV

I caught the fat sucker!

Remember the battle of the squirrels – Squirrely Shirley and Sciuridae?

I finally triumphed!  I caught the fat sucker!  Except…it wasn’t Sciuridae.  And, I probably haven’t won the battle…really.  The foe has another name:  Procyonidae.  I’ll call her Old Pro.  (You know I’m looking it up, don’t you?)  Before you look it up, and if you don’t know the name, let me give you some hints.  Or you can just look at the picture below.  She (or he) is one of the best known American mammals, stout, bear-like…

He (or she) lives in trees, or alone, or in small family groups, and descends at night to forage for crawfish, frogs, and fish in shallow pools (or in my case, birdseed and dried corn-on-the-cob which I put out to deter Sciuridae from eating birdseed).  She wears a mask so she’s unrecognizable.  She’s fat.  And fearless.

 

 

Yep.  Guess who?

But, hey, I live in the woods, so I should have suspected someone like her.

But, hey, I’m fat and fearless and stout and bear-like (so my kids tell me) and sometimes wear a mask to be unrecognizable.  And I definitely stay up at night like she does.  I’m not so different from her, after all.

I need to go to bed.  I was just so proud to catch the culprit.  Rick and I are working at Renovation House in a few hours.  He informed me that I’ll be crawling under the house with him.  For what, I asked him?  I am too old to play sex kitten in odd places, I said.  He looked at me and rolled his eyes.

I’m not looking forward to crawling.  Every time I crawl under the house, my body rebels in places I forgot I had.  Plus, the other day, I was working in my flowerbeds and heard movement against the house.  A snake slithered up under the access, so I’ll have my eyes peeled for slithering creatures, arachnids, and insects with stingers.  Doesn’t that sound like fun?

Good morning!

10 Comments

  1. debby9972 / Apr 16 2012 4:09 PM

    No….no fun at all! I buy Liquid Fence which is a powder or spray to keep snakes away. It works great and is safe for children and pets.

    • dcwisdom / Apr 16 2012 11:13 PM

      Oh, yes, I forgot about this product! Thanks for reminding me. I think our local Tractor Supply has it. In fact, tomorrow I shall buy some in addition to the stinky spray stuff that repels deer and rabbits. The deer ate the English ivy from around my trees as far up as they could reach. It’s coming back, though. Yay! Say hi to Little Britches! 🙂

  2. Vickie / Apr 15 2012 1:30 PM

    So you think you could get a little frisky under the house with your hubby! Silly girl. Glad you caught the culprit. You know another one will take his place, right? I killed a snake the other day, sunning out in the middle of the yard. He took off when he saw me coming with the hoe, but I got ‘im. You be careful crawling around under the house – we see LOTS of black widows out here in the country.

    • dcwisdom / Apr 16 2012 8:52 AM

      I’ll kill the copperheads and rattlers and cottonmouths, but I try to be kind to the others. They’re good for mice. Be sure and watch for the chicken snakes. They’ll gobble up your eggs. Actually, I would have gone for my gun instead of the hoe, but that’s me. My neighbor’s already killed a few snakes this spring. They’re moving around early.
      We’re trying to finish the stuff under the house before it gets too warm for the critters, but I think this early spring caught us.
      I miss you, dear friend. Let’s try to do something before the heat sets in, ok? XO

  3. Rayanne (@alovelythought) / Apr 15 2012 11:38 AM

    For some reason, I didn’t get to see your pictures 😦
    Oh but Debbie…thank you sweetie for your comment, you ALWAYS make me smile!!
    Thanks for being such a good blog friend!!
    Much love,
    Rayanne

    • dcwisdom / Apr 16 2012 8:55 AM

      Sorry about the lack of pictures, Rayanne. I don’t know why wordpress is so fickle sometimes. I hope I make you smile. I try not to make people sad. 🙂 Sending you lots of love today!

  4. jmgoyder / Apr 14 2012 7:55 AM

    I agree with other commenters – do not go under that house again!!!

  5. marylou55 / Apr 14 2012 4:47 AM

    If I had seen a snake, there is no way I’d crawl under the house! Somehow I’d find the money to pay someone else!!

  6. debsladybugtexas / Apr 14 2012 4:04 AM

    There is no way I could climb under a house I don’t do well in closed in places…be careful

    • tanna / Apr 14 2012 8:51 PM

      Debbie, you crack me up with the sex kitten in the crawlspace wisecrack! LOL! Glad you are making ground in the battle with the squirrels… their army seems endless. Thank you so much for your encouragement and prayers. They are appreciated more than you know. blessings ~ tanna

Comments are closed.