Skip to content
April 2, 2012 / dcwisdom

“Are you smarter than a squirrel?” The Battle of the Squirrels

For some reason, this post has a lot of white space in it, courtesy of WordPress, I guess.  ?

As you may remember from a post of mine many moons ago, my husband has for years called me Squirrely Shirley.  I tend to have a somewhat dry humor and sillyweird things happen to me.  Case in point:  In class last Wednesday, I was relating a story and made a ridiculous mistake with words.  It literally had people doubled over in laughter, and while I was thinking the correct word, out of my mouth quickly flew the other word.

Does that ever happen to you?  It’s a mystery to me how that happens!

Anyway, a case of words is secondary to this post’s point.  The real issue here is a squirrel.  This morning I awoke to this…

…again.  For the past few weeks, this certain Sciuridae (rodent)  family member has formally issued a challenge to Squirrely Shirley.  By his/her actions, it’s war between the squirrels.

One morning, I awoke to this feeder’s lid half-cocked and the plexiglass slid up with the entire contents of seed on the ground.  So I glued all the windows but one and added the nails and wire on opposite sides.  So far, it’s worked.

I’ll see if this works.  The smaller wire was my first attempt.  As I added the larger wire, Rick quizzed, “Is Squirrely Shirley smarter than a squirrel?”  We’ll soon see.  Yes, I have thought about purchasing a new, fancier, heavier feeder, but why spend the money when this one is a favorite with the birds and squirrel?  Duh…  It’s the challenge.

I was checking on the tomato plants this morning and found a favorite vine of ours growing alongside –

In case you don’t recognize it, the three-leafed vine is the infamous poison ivy.  Leaves of three, let them be.  The five-leafed, purple-stemmed vine is Virginia creeper.  Virginia creeper is the antidote to poison ivy.  You will always see them growing together.  Why?  Because God always provides an antidote to poisonous things.

And then man made Round Up.

Is Squirrely Shirley smarter than a squirrel?  That has yet to be determined.

I’m off to class.  I have a test tonight.  Say a prayer for me if you think about me.  Thanks.

Peace and love.  Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.  God bless Israel.  God help America.

3 Comments

  1. tanna / Apr 5 2012 7:50 PM

    Thank you so much for the commenting instructions!! I had been several times and could not figure out how to leave a comment!! Duh!

    Squirrels can be pesky little bird feeder emptiers!! A few years ago we bought one of those ones that sling them around and we did have several laughs. Now, with our assassin cat, Velvet, we don’t feel right about “baiting” for her; so we also don’t have to battle the squirrels. Those slinger-around thingies are fun to watch. LOL!

    Glad y’all were all right through the storm! Whew! I think we were most fortunate! blessings ~ tanna

  2. Vickie / Apr 2 2012 9:37 PM

    Hey there Squirrely! Sure didn’t know that about you! haha! Didn’t know that Virginia creeper was the antedote to poison ivy either! That’s a new one. I hope your test went well, my friend. I loved your post with the shoes – those feet s hoes made me laugh out loud!.

    My FIL was always fighting the squirrels that would get into his bird stuff. I think he put some metal flashing around the post that his feeder was on in stead of hanging it on a tree. The squirrels couldn’t climb over the flashing… Good luck with that squirrely squirrel!

  3. debby9972 / Apr 2 2012 12:08 PM

    I hope your winning!!! We don’t have any squirrels where we live but I do remember them from our years in Illinois. They are pretty smart but they can’t beat Squirrely Shirley.

Comments are closed.