Skip to content
March 30, 2012 / dcwisdom

Even when you’re convinced you’re right, you could be dead wrong!

You’ll have to forgive me for resurrecting thoughts on the Rotary Club Spelling Bee last week, but I just can’t get over it.  The whole scenario just hangs in my mind, and why?  I don’t know.  I feed it, I guess.  All to no avail now.

I truly give it the ol’ college try to benefit from major and minor FAILS of life.  To not benefit is to fail.  And, I tell you now that I’m too far past that point of not learning my lesson.  Remember the young guitarist in my earlier post?  He wrote a song about something gone wrong in his short life.  I asked him to explain what happened.  (I’m nosy like that.  You know, kids will tell you anything!)  He philosophized:  I was in the middle part of my life when it happened.  I progressed, and now I’m almost there.  I’ve almost arrived.

There?  Where?  Where is there?  My understanding of our conversation was that he’s almost at complete maturity.  Heck!  He has a leg up on me.  I’m not even halfway there, wherever there is!  But that’s the immaturity of young bucks, and their brains haven’t even fused.

In fact, I think a man’s brain doesn’t fully fuse until after his mid-life crisis.  And then again, I wonder.

Sorry.  I digress.

Two cases in point here…besides the above:

1)  In a conversation with my 19-year-old daughter, she pointedly told me that I have “a lot to learn,” indicating to me that she was there.  I then railed, “Honey, you ain’t my first rodeo.  I raised four knuckle-heads ahead of you.  And I’m freakin’ 55 years old!  I have swum many waters, crossed many deserts, scaled many mountains!  See my scars?” pointing to my crows-feet.

But I’m not there.  Wherever there is.  I still have much to learn.  Apparently.

2)  I was without-doubt-unqualifiably-cocksuredly CERTAIN that my spelling of exacerbate was CORRECT!  Even in my smugness, I was dead w….wr….wro…wrrrrrrroo…wrong.   Walking to the lectern, I was sure, confident, poised…and I opened my mouth, and I was wrong.   I can be 100% wrong in what I believe even when I know I’m right.  I really believe I’m right about personally held issues, and I base my beliefs from what I feel is a good perspective.  But am I?

Boy, I see it everywhere.  On the news, on the college campus, in the marketplace, in the neighborhood, in my home…In those days there was no king in Israel:  every man did that which was right in his own eyes.   In his own eyes.  

So, I have to ask myself:  What is the standard to which I compare my beliefs?  How do I know what I think is right?   When do I know, confidently, that I’m right?  Can I trust myself?

In the above half-hour movie that I linked, one man said he believed in Yoda.  Uhhh…ok.  What is it that Yoda offers a person?  After the weirdness, it turns scary.  I have a friend that LOVES scary movies.  She says it’s like a high of weird sorts.  What then?  Does she want a steady diet of weird?  Does she want to live in a perpetual state of fear?  Does anyone?

Who can I trust?  It boils down to that.  I will not trust in some innate object or cartoon character or sports figure.  They are all fallible.  They have no wisdom beyond my own.  If I put my absolute faith and trust in a man or woman or object, I am guilty of idolatry.  Even if I look to my confidence for security, I will fail.

When I watched the Hubble Deep Field, I thoughtWho but God can suspend stars in place?  Who but God can create an infinite universe?  Who but God sent His only begotten Son, born of a virgin and the Spirit of God, to die for a sinful wretch like me?  Who but God is righteous, holy, all-powerful and all-knowing, all-loving, all goodness, and calls Himself I AM?

I AM THAT I AM.  THE Standard-bearer.  My confidence.  There is no other.  I put my trust in I AM.  I cannot trust my eyes or my heart.  They are faulty.  In this, I am not wrong.

The Living Bible says: Trust the Lord completely; don’t ever trust yourself.  In everything you do, put God first, and He will direct you and crown your efforts with success.  Proverbs 3:5-6

T-R-U-S-T  I-N  G-O-D = S-U-C-C-E-S-S.   “You are correct.”

Peace and love.  Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.  God bless Israel.  God help America.

*Judges 21:25

One Comment

  1. debsladybugtexas / Mar 30 2012 2:05 PM

    I hear where your coming from…I’m 50 and still don’t know what I wanta be when I grow up…I think youngsters think they have it all knowed up…then they get older and realize…they don’t know a darn thing just like us..I love your posts…

Comments are closed.