Skip to content
March 22, 2012 / dcwisdom

Spell “exacerbate.” Hide! Here comes the BS.

Tonight was the annual Rotary Club Spelling Bee.  This was my view from the stage along with 15 other teams of very smart people.

I was part of the bee last year, and Glory Hallelujah, the club served the same dinner – boiled shrimp, boiled new potatoes and corn-on-the-cob, yeast rolls and cabbage slaw.  Heaven.

Adorable servers, eh?  The young lady on the right is my cousin who is literally a living miracle.  All of us give God the Glory for her healing.

Unfortunately, I was taken out first round.  I really wanted to spell “prerogative” since I just learned to spell the word correctly this morning.  Heck, I can even spell (and correctly pronounce) nuclear, similar, kilowatt, lasciviousness, hemorrhoids, necessary, asphyxiate and frankfurter.  But, exacerbate got me.  However, I know how to spell it now.

And that’s what you do, folks.  You mess up in front of the entire community, blush, and learn how to spell.  Lesson learned.  Dang.  I should probably wear a sign that says Bad Speller or BS.  “There goes the town’s bad speller,” they’ll say tomorrow.  “Oh, children, shun her.  Hide your eyes.  She’s a BS.”    The worst part is this BS was the library director’s partner.  She trusted me; I let her down.  Woe is BS.  Fail.

Tomorrow’s another day.   Hope’s on the horizon.

Peace and love.  Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.  God bless Israel.  God help America.

One Comment

  1. debby9972 / Mar 23 2012 8:50 AM

    Well I think it is amazing that you participate in this and should be very proud of yourself.
    The dinner sounds wonderful and your miracle cousin is so pretty. Have a great weekend.

Comments are closed.