Skip to content
March 19, 2012 / dcwisdom

Hubble Ultra Deep Field

This is incomprehensible!  Space and astronomy never interested me much, but this is incredible!  Please, take a look.

Hubble Ultra Deep Field

He uncovers the deep things out of darkness and brings to light black gloom. (Job 12:22, Modern Language Bible)

I was born a Baptist.  That’s fairly typical of a person born in Texas; most Texans born mid-twentieth century were born on the Protestant church rolls, be it Baptist, Methodist, Church of Christ, Presbyterian, or others.  When a person is reared in any religious box, he or she tends to think of God only operating in that box.  Everyone’s world is a box, or a bubble, metaphorically speaking.  Keeping God confined to what we understand is easy.  Thoughts like God made the grass is understandable in science.  We understand how grass grows, or how birds fly, or what gravity is.  We understand that languages and styles of music are as diverse as they are beautiful.

Several years ago, my heart and mind began to seek God outside my Baptist box.  As early as 1980, my learning experience was broadened while I worked at Oral Roberts University in Tulsa.  I knew that ORU people spoke (speak) in ‘tongues.’  For the life of me, I did not understand why and thought Weirdos!  You look ridiculous!  You sound ridiculous!  You are ridiculous!  My boss spoke many times to me about my ‘conversion.’  My mind stayed in the Baptist box, and I stayed close-minded even though I opened the box lid a little.  Years later, God gave me a revelation about ‘tongues.’  He said to me in my heart, Debbie, I am not limited.  I am infinite.  If you know of over 600 languages spoken on Earth, there are many more languages available for my children to speak with Me.

Another revelation came about music.  One Sunday, a man began singing without musical accompaniment.  Our keyboardist, who is very accomplished in music, searched her keyboard for the key in which the man was singing.  The notes and key were not found on the board, and he continued to sing the most beautiful music I ever heard.  The Lord said to me in my heart, I am infinite in music between and beyond the known keys.I am the Alpha and the Omega, the Beginning and the End.

My associate’s degree study introduced me to the cardiopulmonary (heart-lungs) systems of the body.  Anyone who studies the body discovers systems within systems within systems, an infinite study of the body.  Yes, there is vast knowledge in biological science, but there’s even more yet to discover.

I dare to say that the majority of people, once we reach a plateau or a pinnacle in life, will put aside learning.   We may pick up the occasional library book or read a good fiction book on Kindle, but remember that there’s more to learn, and we are not limited.

I visited the dentist today.  The receptionist and I struck up a conversation that went like this:

HER:  How’s your day been?

ME:  It’s been great!   I just bombed my government mid-term!  Isn’t that great?!

HER:  (She looked at me strangely.)  Do you attend college?

ME:  Yes, A&M.

HER:  Wow.  I almost finished, but I quit because my children are teenagers, and I couldn’t keep up with them and school both.

ME:  I understand that, but I encourage you to do this:  Re-enroll for one class a semester until you finish.  You might graduate college when they graduate high school.  That’d be cool!  That way, you won’t have to go back to school after they graduate, like I did.  I wish someone had encouraged me to do that in my younger years.

HER:  I never thought of that.  I could do that!

One part of my earthly mission is to encourage women to finish their college educations at an early(ier) age.   So, if you are reading this and are younger than 30 or 40 or 50, consider this post an encouragement to you.  Going back to college at 55 is hard in many aspects.  It’s fun and challenging and renewing, but I wish I had finished years ago.

Listen, I studied hard for the government mid-term, but I feel like it didn’t come together on the test.  It is what it is, now.  I was the last one out of the class and talked to Genius about it.   I might dare hope to eek by with a B at the end of the term.  I honestly thought I had a good chance of making an A in Texas Government.  *haha*

And speaking of B’s, the annual Rotary Club Spelling Bee is Thursday night.  I’m pairing with our local library director again this year.  I heard it will be the real deal, the real thing, the real McCoy.  We won’t have spell-check, though.   Rats.

Peace and love.  Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.  God bless Israel.  God help America.

2 Comments

  1. marylou55 / Mar 26 2012 3:46 AM

    I love that you are a tongue speaking believer! I’m Assembly of God; that denomination has blessed me so very much.

  2. Rayanne (@alovelythought) / Mar 22 2012 6:32 AM

    Dear sweet Debbie,
    I always enjoy your posts but this one is my favorite so far! What God told you about
    tongues was great. I was a Baptist for many years and then a group of people that called themselves “Spirit-filled believers” prayed for me to receive tongues. Well, it’s a long story, but our Baptist church was in that box you talked about and really wanted our family to leave because we spoke in tongues.
    Talk about getting out of the box… I would love for you to go to my prayer blog and read my story, it’s on my tab at the top. Let me know what you think of that box exit!!! I trust God completely, I want to always say that.
    http://lovelovelythoughts.blogspot.com/
    I Love you, friend!!

Comments are closed.