Skip to content
March 15, 2012 / dcwisdom

On the third and fourth day of Spring Break, this is what I did…

Why, oh, why didn’t I go to South Padre this week?  I could have basked in the shadows of ripped hottees; the novel would have been started and finished; my bronzed senior-senior body would have thanked me.  O me achin’ back!

We painted and painted and painted,cleaned windows, and pulled up nasty, old flooring…

IF you were born AFTER the 1970’s, you probably appreciate this color.  Me?  Not so much, but Emily likes it.  When I married in 1975, harvest gold was the hottest color.  And now, it’s baaaaaaaack!  In real life, it has a hint of green, so it’s barely more palatable.   This house, like I said a couple of posts ago, was used by the local school.  All the walls are paneled, so the easiest, least expensive fix is to paint.  Oh, what a difference a coat of paint makes!

You can see the contrast of the cabinets.  We used a 4-step paint product (I forgot the name of it) that re-stains the cabinets without sanding the existing finish.  Talk about E-A-S-Y!  (Where’s that Easy Button when you need it?)  The kids will hang the doors tonight and refinish the bottom cabinets and paint this side of the kitchen next trip home.

March 12-16, 2012

They’re so excited!

It seems like I’ve spent a lifetime in painting and renovations.  Mom and Dad bought a new house the year Rick and I were married.  The massive living room was paneled, and after a few years of dark walls, Mom and I painted the room a nice cream color with blueberry blue on the back of the library book shelves.  It was gorgeous.

After Rick’s college graduation, we were hired to manage a private hunting and fishing club.  Rick managed the acreage, and I, at 20 years old, managed the kitchen and a small staff.  I forged head-long into a monstrous learning curve since all I knew how to prepare was Hamburger Helper, but I’ve always bossed people around pretty handily.  I learned to cook real food, cut up whole chickens, and serve 2-85 people at a meal’s notice.  As soon as I saw the kitchen, I asked for two weeks to clean all the years of grease and grime off the walls, appliances, and fixtures and repaint the entire kitchen and dining room.  I made my brownie points and used them to beg for mercy from the membership for my lack of knowledge and skills in the kitchen.   Quite amazingly, they forgave me, pitched cookbooks at me, and turned me into a pretty good cook, all because of my great painting skills.

Several others places we lived were magically transformed by paint, a nail or two, and some old-fashioned elbow grease.  Everyone has these stories.

For ten years, Rick and I bought many properties to renovate and resell.  And now, we have our last project, the Renovation House.  I don’t know what I’ll call the house when she’s finished.  Maybe the Glory-Hallelujah-The-Old-Girl-Is-Finished House.  I’m ready to git’r done!

I’m ready to get Sam and Emily done, too.  I’m sure they’ll be in theirs before we will ours.  It’s almost time to call in some favors…

Peace and love.  Pray for the peace of Jerusalem.  God bless Israel.  God help America.

 

2 Comments

  1. debby9972 / Mar 22 2012 3:20 PM

    Been reading your Spring posts. You have been busy. Can’t believe what $1,400. could buy.
    Why are comments closed on the other two? Enjoy your break.

  2. Vickie / Mar 16 2012 12:27 PM

    Good grief! I like to have NEVER found the comment button! Just happened upon it! Well, it’s good to see you’re alive, and see? I’m still alive, too! And we were both busy during spring break, evidently. Drat. I sure was hoping to see you this week, my friend.

    Wow, you all have been busy with the housing rennovations. I’m lovin’ that Harvest Gold. hee-hee. We had carpet that color, and my mama’s oven, dishwasher & fridge were that color. She had alot of avocado green and rust, too…

    Well, I’ve been on a break myself from blogging. No motivation, and not much in the way of time. We’ve had kids home, my sister’s been here, trying to get the garden in, working, you know… Miss ya, girl – I’m trying to talk Tara into doing a workshop with the painting/torn paper maybe after school’s out. Hayley might be interested! How ’bout your girls?

Comments are closed.